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Bill No: AB 1375 Hearing Date: June 16, 2015 
Author: Thurmond 
Version: February 27, 2015 
Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes 
Consultant: JRD 

Subject: Criminal Penalties: Nonpayment of Fines 

HISTORY 

Source: Conference of California Bar Associations 

Prior Legislation: SB 1371 (Anderson), Chapter 49, Statutes of 2012 

Support: American Civil Liberties Union of California; California Attorneys for Criminal 
Justice; California Public Defenders Association; Legal Services for Prisoners 
with Children; Ella Baker Center for Human Rights 

Opposition: None known 

Assembly Floor Vote: 77 - 0 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to increase the statutory rate for payment of fines by incarceration 
from not less than $30 per day to not less than $125 per day. 

Existing law authorizes the court to incarcerate a defendant until an imposed criminal fine is 
satisfied, but limits such imprisonment to the maximum term permitted for the particular offense 
of conviction. (Penal Code § 1205(a).) 

Existing law requires that the time of imprisonment for failure to pay a fine be calculated as no 
more than one day for every $30 of the fine. (Penal Code § 1205(a).) 

Existing law states that this provision applies to any violation of any of the codes or statutes of 
the state which are punishable by a fine or by a fine and imprisonment, but that it does not apply 
to restitution fines or restitution orders. (Penal Code § 1205(c) and (f).) 

Existing law provides that all days spent in custody by the defendant must first be applied to the 
term of imprisonment and then to any fine including, but not limited to, base fines at the rate of 
not less than $30 per day, or more, in the discretion of the trial court. (Penal Code § 2900.5(a).) 

This bill requires that the time of imprisonment for failure to pay a fine be calculated as no more 
than one day for every $125 of the fine. 
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This bill provides that all days spent in custody by the defendant must first be applied to the term 
of imprisonment and then to any fine including, but not limited to, base fines at the rate of not 
less than $125 per day. 

RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION 

For the past eight years, this Committee has scrutinized legislation referred to its jurisdiction for 
any potential impact on prison overcrowding. Mindful of the United States Supreme Court 
ruling and federal court orders relating to the state’s ability to provide a constitutional level of 
health care to its inmate population and the related issue of prison overcrowding, this Committee 
has applied its “ROCA” policy as a content-neutral, provisional measure necessary to ensure that 
the Legislature does not erode progress in reducing prison overcrowding. 

On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows: 

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016. 

In February of this year the administration reported that as “of February 11, 2015, 112,993 
inmates were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounts to 136.6% of design bed 
capacity, and 8,828 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities. This current population is 
now below the court-ordered reduction to 137.5% of design bed capacity.” ( Defendants’ 
February 2015 Status Report In Response To February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM 
DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted). 

While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state now must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court. (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14). The Committee’s consideration of bills that may impact the prison population 
therefore will be informed by the following questions: 

• Whether a proposal erodes a measure which has contributed to reducing the prison 
population; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a major area of public safety or criminal activity for which 
there is no other reasonable, appropriate remedy; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a crime which is directly dangerous to the physical safety 
of others for which there is no other reasonably appropriate sanction; 

• Whether a proposal corrects a constitutional problem or legislative drafting error; and 
• Whether a proposal proposes penalties which are proportionate, and cannot be achieved 

through any other reasonably appropriate remedy. 



            
 

 

      

    
 

              
                  
               

                 
             

               
            
              

                
               

                   
         

 
                

                
                 

                    
                 

 
              

            
               

              
            

 
     

 
                 

               
                  

            
 

             
              
             

                   
                 

             
                  

                
                 

                                            
                 
                      

AB 1375 (Thurmond ) Page 3 of 4 

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Legislation 

According to the author: 

Under existing law, a criminal defendant may choose or be ordered to serve jail 
time in lieu of paying a criminal fine, or he or she may be allowed to credit time 
spent incarcerated against the payment of a fine. The minimum rate of credit is 
$30.00 per day of incarceration – an amount that was set 39 years ago in 1976 and 
has not been adjusted since. In almost all California counties, this “minimum” has 
since become the actual amount credited. At the same time, while base fines have 
not increased substantially since 1976, the total amount offenders are required to 
pay has skyrocketed due to added penalties and assessments. The total fine for 
running a red light increased from $103 in 1993 to $490 today – a 475% increase 
in just 20 years, compared to the proposed 416% increase in the credit proposed by 
AB 1375. Speeding up to 15 mph over the limit also comes with a $238 price tag -
more than 800% above what it cost in 1993. 

It is not fiscally responsible to credit defendants only $30 per day in lieu of fine 
payments. At an average cost of $100 per day to house somebody in a California 
county jail, it would take 10 days and cost $1000 to house a person paying off a 
$300 fine. At the more equitable rate of $125 per day, it would only take 3 days 
and cost about $300. The cost savings alone justify the increase to $125 per day. 

This failure to adjust the rate of credit hurts poor defendants far more than better-
off defendants, increasing anger and resentment at the inequity. Poor defendants 
are less likely to be able to post bail and will spend more time incarcerated 
awaiting a hearing or “working off” their fine. The inability of an increasing 
number of defendants to pay the fine outright also increases jail overcrowding. 

2. Effect of Legislation 

Penal Code section 1205 gives the court power to enforce payment of fine in criminal case by 
imprisonment.1 Penal Code section 1205 also allows defendants to request that the trial court 
exercise its discretion to convert fines to jail time. The statute, however, cannot be used to pay 
off restitution fines or victim restitution orders. (Penal Code § 1205(f).) 

Criminal fines and penalties have climbed steadily in recent decades. Government entities 
tasked with collecting these fines have realized diminishing returns from collection efforts. A 
recent San Francisco Daily Journal article noted, “California courts and counties collect nearly 
$2 billion in fines and fees every year. Nevertheless, the state still has a more than $10.2 billion 
balance of uncollected debt from prior years, according to the most recent date from 2012.” (See 
Jones & Sugarman, State Judges Bemoan Fee Collection Process, San Francisco Daily Journal, 
(January 5, 2015).) “Felons convicted to prison time usually can’t pay their debts at all. The 
annual growth in delinquent debt partly reflects a supply of money that doesn’t exist to be 
collected.” (Id.) In the same article, the Presiding Judge of San Bernardino County was quoted 

1 However, imprisonment pending payment of a fine is unconstitutional as applied to a convicted indigent defendant 
if the failure to pay is due to indigence and not to willfulness. (In re Antazo (1970) 3 Cal.3d 100, 103-104.) 



            
 

                
 

                   
           

 
     

 
              

 
              

                  
               

                 
            
       

 
              

             
            

               
             
       

 
             

              
              

                 
               

                 
                 

                 
              
  

 
              

            
               

              
            

 
                

                
               

                  
                
   

 

   

AB 1375 (Thurmond ) Page 4 of 4 

as saying “the whole concept is getting blood out of a turnip.” (Id.) 

By raising the daily rate at which defendants can pay off fines and fees by converting them to jail 
time, this bill may help incentivize defendants to address delinquent debt. 

3. Argument in Support 

According to the Conference of California Bar Associations, the sponsor of this bill: 

Under existing law, a criminal defendant may choose or be ordered to serve jail 
time in lieu of paying a criminal fine, or he or she may be allowed to credit time 
spent incarcerated against the payment of a fine. The minimum rate of credit is 
$30.00 per day of incarceration – an amount that was set in 1976 and has not been 
adjusted since. In almost all California counties, this “minimum” has since 
become the actual amount credited. 

When this law was enacted, $30.00 was equivalent to working 12 hours at a 
minimum wage job ($1.50/hour). On January 1, 2016, the minimum wage in 
California will increase to be $10.00/hour, meaning that the same 12-hour day 
should be worth $120 – essentially the amount provided by AB 1375. By another 
measure, $30.00 in 1976 had the same buying power as $125.00 in 2014, 
according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

Further, while base fines have not increased substantially in the 39 years since 
1976, the total amount offenders are required to pay has skyrocketed due to added 
penalties and assessments. The total fine for running a red light increased from 
$103 in 1993 to $490 today – a 475% increase in just 20 years, compared to the 
proposed 416% increase in the credit proposed by AB 1375. Speeding up to 15 
mph over the limit also comes with a $238 price tag - more than 800% above what 
it cost in 1993. By almost any standard, the proposed increase in the credit for jail 
time in lieu of a fine is very reasonable, modest even, when it is compared to the 
rise in inflation, the increased minimum wage, and the vast inflation of court fines 
and fees. 

This failure to adjust the rate of credit hurts poor defendants far more than better-
off defendants, increasing anger and resentment at the inequity. Poor defendants 
are less likely to be able to post bail and will spend more time incarcerated 
awaiting a hearing or “working off” their fine. The inability of an increasing 
number of defendants to pay the fine outright also increases jail overcrowding. 

Finally, it is not fiscally responsible to credit defendants only $30 per day in lieu of 
fine payments. At an average cost of $100 per day to house somebody in a 
California county jail, it would take 10 days and cost $1000 to house a person 
paying off a $300 fine. At the more equitable rate of $125 per day, it would only 
take 3 days and cost about $300. The cost savings alone justify the increase to 
$125 per day. 

-- END – 


