
SENATESENATESENATESENATE    COMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ON    PUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETY    
Senator Loni Hancock, Chair 

2015 - 2016  Regular  

Bill No: AB 1754   Hearing Date:    June 28, 2016     
Author: Waldron 
Version: May 31, 2016      
Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes 
Consultant: JM 

Subject:  Crime Victim Compensation:  Elder or Dependent Adult Financial Abuse 

HISTORY 
 
Source: California Commission on Aging; California Elder Justice Coalition  
 
Prior Legislation: SB 60 (Wright) – Ch. 147, Stats. 2013 

Support: AARP; Arc and United Cerebral Palsy California Collaboration; California 
Association of Area Agencies on Aging; California Association for Health 
Services at Home; California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists; 
Crime Victim Compensation: Elder and Dependent Adult; Elder Law and 
Advocacy; Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman; Professional 
Fiduciary Association of California; San Diego County District Attorney; San 
Diego Victim Compensation Pilot Project  
 

Opposition: None known 

Assembly Floor Vote: 80 - 0 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to create a pilot program in San Diego County permitting the 
Victims of Crime Program (CalVCP) to reimburse victims of elder and dependent adult 
financial abuse for costs of financial and mental-health counseling.   

Existing provisions in the California Constitution state that all persons who suffer losses as a 
result of criminal activity shall have the right to restitution from the perpetrators.  (Cal. Const. 
Art. 1 § 28(b).) 
 
Existing law directs a sentencing court to order a defendant to make restitution to the victim or 
victims of the defendant’s crime.  (Pen. Code § 1202.4, subds. (a) and (f).) 
 
Existing law requires the court to impose on each convicted criminal defendant a restitution fine:  
  

a) For a felony, the fine ranges from $300 to $10,000.  The misdemeanor fine ranges from 
$150 to $1,000. 
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b) Penalty assessments and state surcharges are not applied to restitution fines. 
c) The fines are deposited in the Victims of Crime Fund in the State Treasury.  (Pen. Code § 

1202.4, subds. (b)-(g).) 
 
Existing law states that all persons who suffer loss as a result of criminal activity shall have the 
right to restitution from the perpetrators.  (Cal. Const. Art. 1, § 28(b).) 
 
Existing law establishes CalVCP administered by the board to reimburse crime victims for the 
pecuniary losses they suffer as a direct result of criminal acts.  Indemnification is made from the 
Restitution Fund, which is continuously appropriated to the board for these purposes.  (Gov. 
Code, §§ 13901 & 13950 et. seq.)   
 
Existing law authorizes the board to reimburse victims of crimes causing physical injury or 
emotional injury with a threat of physical injury for pecuniary loss for specified types of losses, 
including medical expenses, mental-health counseling, loss of income or loss of support, and 
installing or increasing residential security.  (Gov. Code, §§ 13955, subd. (f), and 13957.) 
 
Existing law authorizes the board to establish maximum rates and service limitations for medical 
and medical-related services, and for mental health and counseling services.  (Gov. Code, § 
13957.2) 
 
Existing law defines an "elder" as "any person who is 65 years of age or older."  (Pen. Code, § 
368, subd. (g).) 
 
Existing law defines a "dependent adult" as "any person who is between the ages of 18 and 64, 
who has physical or mental limitations which restrict his or her ability to carry out normal 
activities or to protect his or her rights, including, but not limited to, persons who have physical 
or developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of 
age."  (Pen. Code, § 368, subd. (h).) 
 
Existing law specifies that any person who is not a caretaker who violates any provision of law 
proscribing theft, embezzlement, forgery, fraud, or identity theft, with respect to the property or 
personal identifying information of an elder or a dependent adult, and who knows or reasonably 
should know that the victim is an elder or a dependent adult, is punishable as follows: 
 

a) By a fine not exceeding $2,500, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one 
year, or by both that fine and imprisonment, or by a fine not exceeding $10,000, or by 
imprisonment in the county jail for two, three, or four years, or by both that fine and 
imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, services, or real or personal property 
taken or obtained is of a value exceeding $950. 

b) By a fine not exceeding $1,000, by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, 
or by both that fine and imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, services, or real or 
personal property taken or obtained is of a value not exceeding $950. (Pen. Code, § 368, 
subd. (d).) 
 

Existing law provides that any caretaker of an elder or a dependent adult who violates any 
provision of law proscribing theft, embezzlement, forgery, fraud, or identity theft, with respect to 
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the property or personal identifying information of that elder or dependent adult, is punishable as 
follows: 
 

a) By a fine not exceeding $2,500, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one 
year, or by both that fine and imprisonment, or by a fine not exceeding $10,000, or by 
imprisonment in the county jail for two, three, or four years, or by both that fine and 
imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, services, or real or personal property 
taken or obtained is of a value exceeding $950; or 

b) By a fine not exceeding $1,000, by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, 
or by both that fine and imprisonment, when the moneys, labor, goods, services, or real or 
personal property taken or obtained is of a value not exceeding $950. (Pen. Code, § 368, 
subd. (e).) 

 
This bill contains legislative findings and declaration about the extent of financial abuse of the 
elderly and dependent adults, the response of other legislative bodies to the problem, of the need 
for a pilot program, and why San Diego County is well-situated for the pilot program. 
 
This bill establishes the San Diego County Elder or Dependent Adult Financial Abuse Crime 
Victim Compensation Pilot Program. 
 
This bill limits compensation to direct victims of theft, identity theft, embezzlement, forgery, or 
fraud of an elder or dependent adult and deems derivative victims ineligible.   
 
This bill limits compensation to a particular victim to $3,000. 
 
This bill permits compensation for up to 10 sessions of mental health counseling and up to 10 
session of financial counseling.  
 
This bill limits the distribution of the total funds under the pilot program to one million dollars. 
 
This bill states that funding authorization stops on January 1, 2019. 
 
This bill sunsets the program on January 1, 2020.   
 
Existing law requires the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board 
(board) to report to the Legislature and the Governor, by July 1, 2020, the following: 
 

a) The number of victims who received payment under the pilot program 
b) The number of victims who received mental health counseling; 
c) The average payment for mental health counseling per recipient; 
d) The number of victims who received financial counseling; 
e) The average payment for financial counseling per recipient; and,  
f) Any other data on the pilot program that the board wishes to include. 

 
This bill states that a compensation program for elderly victims of financial abuse is applicable to 
San Diego County alone because San Diego is unique in the particularly high number of reported 
elder and dependent adult financial abuse crimes. 
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RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION 
 

For the past several years this Committee has scrutinized legislation referred to its jurisdiction 
for any potential impact on prison overcrowding.  Mindful of the United States Supreme Court 
ruling and federal court orders relating to the state’s ability to provide a constitutional level of 
health care to its inmate population and the related issue of prison overcrowding, this Committee 
has applied its “ROCA” policy as a content-neutral, provisional measure necessary to ensure that 
the Legislature does not erode progress in reducing prison overcrowding.    
 
On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    
 

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

 
In December of 2015 the administration reported that as “of December 9, 2015, 112,510 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounts to 136.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 5,264 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  The current population is 
1,212 inmates below the final court-ordered population benchmark of 137.5% of design bed 
capacity, and has been under that benchmark since February 2015.”  (Defendants’ December 
2015 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-
Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)  One year ago, 115,826 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounted to 140.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 8,864 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  (Defendants’ December 2014 
Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge 
Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)   
  
While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).  The Committee’s consideration of bills that may impact the prison population 
therefore will be informed by the following questions: 
 

• Whether a proposal erodes a measure which has contributed to reducing the prison 
population; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a major area of public safety or criminal activity for which 
there is no other reasonable, appropriate remedy; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a crime which is directly dangerous to the physical safety 
of others for which there is no other reasonably appropriate sanction;  

• Whether a proposal corrects a constitutional problem or legislative drafting error; and 
• Whether a proposal proposes penalties which are proportionate, and cannot be achieved 

through any other reasonably appropriate remedy. 
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COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 

This bill would establish a pilot program for victims of elder and dependent adult 
financial abuse in San Diego County to be eligible for financial assistance through 
the California Victims’ Compensation program.  Elder and dependent adult 
financial abuse can lead to large costs to victims, families, and society.  The Penal 
Code specifically cites the increased vulnerability of the elderly and dependent 
adult victims as a justification for higher criminal penalties for perpetrators of 
financial crimes.  In the Welfare and Institutions Code, the Elder and Dependent 
Adult Civil Protection Act cites the Legislature’s responsibility to protect this 
vulnerable population from criminal acts. 
 

2. Compensation Issues for Elderly and Dependent Victims of Theft and Fraud 
 
Nature and Extent of Abuse of the Elderly 
 
There has been a growing amount of research into the nature and extent of elder and dependent 
adult abuse.  One study suggests that approximately 6% of the population of those age 65 and 
older will report physical, financial, mental and other forms of abuse in any given year.  The 
Department of Social Services (DSS) which oversees the Adult Protective Services (APS) 
program found that approximately 9,500 cases per month of elder and dependent adult abuse are 
reported and investigated.  About 1,600 of the reports reflect financial abuse or exploitation.  In 
2014-2015, San Diego County’s Adult Protective Services confirmed a total of 1,148 unique 
reports of elder and dependent adult financial abuse.  The San Diego District Attorney estimates 
approximately 600 elderly and dependent adult victims are served annually, averaging about 50 
clients per month.  It is estimated that elder victims of financial abuse suffer upwards of $2.9 
billion annual financial loss.  Data from the National Center on Elder Abuse shows that women 
are about twice as likely as men to be abused, and that the older one is, the greater the risk is for 
suffering abuse. 
 
Vulnerability of Elderly Financial Crime Victims 
 
Many elderly persons have fixed minimal incomes.  A loss of income or assets could severely 
limit an elderly person’s ability to pay for basic needs, such as utilities and rent.  Elderly persons 
who are the victims of theft or fraud may have difficulty dealing with the stress of victimization’ 
leading to rapid declines in health.  Further, research1 has found that changes in the brains of the 
elderly render them less able to recognize a fraudulent scheme or scam.  A dependent adult who 
has a limited ability to care for himself or herself, or who has an intellectual disability, may also 
be especially vulnerable to thieves and perpetrators of fraudulent schemes.  SB 60 (Wright) Ch. 
147, Stats. 2013, was originally drafted to extend compensation to dependent adult and elderly 

                                            
1 Why It’s Easier to Scam the Elderly, NPR Morning Edition, December 6, 2012:  
http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2012/12/06/166609270/why-its-easier-to-scam-the-elderly 
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victims of financial abuse.  The bill was amended to only extend eligibility to victims of human 
trafficking. 
 
Specific Issues Concerning Compensation for Financial Crimes against the Elderly 
 
Two major issues or objections have been raised to an extension of compensation to elderly and 
dependent adult victims of financial fraud.  One concern was that compensation through the fund 
has always been limited to victims of violent crime.  Supporters of compensation for elderly 
victims of financial fraud that the physical and mental harm experienced by elderly and 
dependent adult victims of financial fraud can be similar or equivalent to the harm suffered by 
victims of crimes covered by the program.   
 
Further, supporters of both this bill and the introduced version of SB 60 in 2013 have noted that 
federal law authorizes compensation to victims of financial crimes and that the state would 
receive federal matching funds for reimbursement of elderly fraud victims.  The 2001 Federal 
Register2 on victim compensation notes:  “States may choose to broaden the range of 
compensable crimes to include those involving threats of injury or economic crime where victims 
are traumatized but not physically injured.”  The Final Program Guidelines issued by the 
Department of Justice, Office for Victims of Crime3 explains:  “Although VOCA-funded 
programs cannot restore the financial losses suffered by victims of fraud, victims are eligible for 
the counseling, criminal justice advocacy, and other support services offered by VOCA-funded 
victim assistance programs.”  
 
The second major concern was that the fund is chronically low on reserves or heading toward a 
deficit.  However, it has been noted that the compensation program has long been criticized for 
overspending on administrative costs and for being inefficient in evaluating and processing 
claims.  Arguably, changes in the program could allow extension of compensation to the victims 
covered by this bill.  AB 1140 (Bonta) Ch. 569, Stats. 2015, codified many suggestions for 
reform that the board has heard over the 10 to 15 years.   The Senate Floor analysis of AB 1140 
lists 34 separate changes made to the law governing victim compensation in the bill.   
 
 

-- END – 

 

                                            
2 http://ojp.gov/ovc/voca/pdftxt/voca_guidelines2001.pdf 
3 http://ojp.gov/ovc/voca/vaguide.htm 


