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PURPOSE 

The purpose of this legislation is to require: (1) a person, commencing July 1, 2018, to apply 
to and obtain from the Department of Justice (DOJ) a unique serial number or other mark of 
identification prior to manufacturing or assembling a firearm, as specified; and (2) by 
January 1, 2019, any person who, as of July 1, 2018, owns a firearm that does not bear a 
serial number assigned to it to obtain a unique serial number or other mark of identification 
prior to manufacturing or assembling a firearm, as specified. 

Existing federal law requires licensed importers and licensed manufacturers to identify each 
firearm imported or manufactured by using the serial number engraved or cast on the receiver or 
frame of the weapon, in such manner as prescribed by the Attorney General.  (18 U.S.C. § 
923(i).)  
 
Under existing federal law, the United States Undetectable Firearms Act of 1988 makes it illegal 
to manufacture, import, sell, ship, deliver, possess, transfer, or receive any firearm that is not as 
detectable by walk-through metal detection as a security exemplar containing 3.7 oz of steel, or 
any firearm with major components that do not generate an accurate image before standard 
airport imaging technology.  (18 U.S.C. § 922(p).)   
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Existing law prohibits a person, firm, or corporation licensed to manufacture firearms pursuant to 
Chapter 44 (commencing with Section 921) of Title 18 of the United States Code from 
manufacturing firearms in California, unless the person, firm or corporation is also licensed 
under California law.  This prohibition does not apply to a person licensed under federal law, 
who manufactures less than 100 firearms a calendar year.  (Penal Code § 29010.) 
 
Existing law makes it illegal to change, alter, remove, or obliterate the name of the maker, 
model, manufacturer’s number, or other mark of identification on any pistol, revolver, or any 
other firearm, without first having secured written permission from the Department of Justice 
(DOJ) to make that change, alteration, or removal.  Anyone who is found to have violated this 
section shall be punished by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.  (Penal 
Code § 23900.) 
 
Existing law allows the Department of Justice, upon request, to assign a distinguishing number or 
mark of identification to any firearm whenever the firearm lacks a manufacturer’s number or 
other mark of identification, or whenever the manufacturer’s number or other mark of 
identification, or a distinguishing number or mark assigned by the department has been destroyed 
or obliterated.  (Penal Code § 23910.) 
 
Existing law makes it misdemeanor, with limited enumerated exceptions, for any person to buy, 
receive, dispose of, sell, offer to sell or have possession any pistol, revolver, or other firearm that 
has had the name of the maker or model, or the manufacturer’s number or other mark of 
identification changed, altered, removed, or obliterated.  (Penal Code §§ 23920 and 23925.) 
 
Existing law requires a person be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun.  To 
purchase a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years of age.  As part of the Dealer Record of 
Sales (DROS) process, the purchaser must present “clear evidence of identity and age” which is 
defined as a valid, non-expired California Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  (Penal Code §§ 27510 and 16400.)  
 
Existing law requires purchasers to present a handgun safety certificate prior to the submission of 
DROS information for a handgun or provide the dealer with proof of exemption pursuant to 
California Penal Code Section 31700.  Beginning on January 1, 2015, this requirement was 
extended to all firearms.  (Penal Code § 26840.) 
 
Existing law requires that firearms dealers obtain certain identifying information from 
firearms purchasers and forward that information, via electronic transfer to DOJ to perform a 
background check on the purchaser to determine whether he or she is prohibited from 
possessing a firearm.  (Penal Code §§ 28160-28220.) 
 
Existing law requires firearms to be centrally registered at the time of transfer or sale by way of 
transfer forms centrally compiled by the Department of Justice.  The Department of Justice is 
required to keep a registry from data sent to DOJ indicating who owns what firearm by make, 
model, and serial number and the date thereof.  (Penal Code § 11106(a) and (c).)  
 
Existing law requires that, upon receipt of the purchaser’s information, DOJ shall examine its 
records, as well as those records that it is authorized to request from the State Department of 
Mental Health pursuant to Section 8104 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, in order to 
determine if the purchaser is prohibited from purchasing a firearm because of a prior felony 
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conviction or because they had previously purchased a handgun within the last 30 days, or 
because they had received inpatient treatment for a mental health disorder, as specified.  (Penal 
Code § 28220.)  
 
Existing law allows the Department of Justice to require the dealer to charge each firearm 
purchaser a fee not to exceed $14, except that the fee may be increased at a rate not to exceed 
any increase in the California Consumer Price Index as compiled and reported by the Department 
of Industrial Relations.  This fee, known as the DROS fee, shall be no more than is necessary to 
fund specific codified costs.  (Penal Code § 28225.) 
 
Under existing law, the Department of Justice may charge a fee sufficient to reimburse it for 
each of the following but not to exceed fourteen dollars ($14), except that the fee may be 
increased at a rate not to exceed any increase in the California Consumer Price Index as 
compiled and reported by the Department of Industrial Relations: 
 

• For the actual costs associated with the preparation, sale, processing, and filing of forms 
or reports required or utilized pursuant to any provision listed in subdivision (a) of 
Section 16585. 

 
• For the actual processing costs associated with the submission of a Dealers’ Record of 

Sale to the department. 
 

• For the actual costs associated with the preparation, sale, processing, and filing of reports 
utilized pursuant to Sections 26905, 27565, or 28000, or paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) 
of Section 27560. 

 
• For the actual costs associated with the electronic or telephonic transfer of information 

pursuant to Section 28215. 
 

• Any costs incurred by the Department of Justice to implement this section shall be 
reimbursed from fees collected and charged pursuant to this section.  No fees shall be 
charged to the dealer pursuant to Section 28225 for implementing this section.  (Penal 
Code § 28230.) 

 
Under existing law, the Attorney General shall establish and maintain an online database to be 
known as the Prohibited Armed Persons File.  The purpose of the file is to cross-reference 
persons who have ownership or possession of a firearm on or after January 1, 1991, as indicated 
by a record in the Consolidated Firearms Information System, and who, subsequent to the date of 
that ownership or possession of a firearm, fall within a class of persons who are prohibited from 
owning or possessing a firearm.  (Penal Code § 30000.)  
 
This bill defines “manufacturing” or “assembling” a firearm as “to fabricate or construct a 
firearm, or to fit together the component parts of a firearm to construct a firearm.”   
 
This bill, commencing July 1, 2018, requires any person who manufactures or assembles a 
firearm to:  
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• Apply to the Department of Justice for a unique serial number or other mark of 
identification, as specified;  
 

• Within ten days of manufacturing or assembling the firearm, to engrave or permanently 
affix the unique serial number or other mark to that firearm, as specified; and,  
 

• Notify the DOJ once the serial number or other mark is affixed to the firearm, as 
specified. 
 

This bill states that by January 1, 2019, any person who, as of July 1, 2018, owns a firearm that 
does not bear a serial number, as specified, must: 
 

• Apply to the Department of Justice for a unique serial number or other mark of 
identification, as specified. 
 

• Within ten days of manufacturing or assembling the firearm, to engrave or permanently 
affix the unique serial number or other mark to that firearm, as specified; and,  
 

• Notify the DOJ once the serial number or other mark is affixed to the firearm, as 
specified. 
 

This bill specifies, prior to the DOJ providing the person with a unique serial number or other 
mark, the person must:  
 

• Present proof the applicant is not prohibited by state or federal law. 
 

• Present proof of age and identity.  The applicant must be 18 years of age or older to 
obtain a unique serial number or mark of identification for a firearm that is not a 
handgun, and must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a unique serial number or mark 
of identification for a handgun. 
 

• Provide a description of the firearm that he or she owns or intends to manufacture or 
assemble, in a manner prescribed by the department. 
 

• Have a valid firearm safety certificate or handgun safety certificate. 
 

This bill prohibits the sale or transfer of ownership of a firearm manufactured or assembled 
pursuant to the provisions of this legislation, but allows for the transfer, surrender, or sale of a 
firearm to a law enforcement agency, as specified. 
 
This bill exempts the following from the provisions of this legislation: 
 

• A firearm that has a serial number assigned, as specified. 
 

• A firearm made or assembled prior to December 16, 1968, that is not a handgun. 
 

• A firearm which was entered into the centralized registry, as specified, prior to July 1, 
2018, as being owned by a specific individual or entity if that firearm has assigned to it a 
distinguishing number or mark of identification to that firearm by virtue of the 
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department accepting entry of that firearm into the centralized registry. 
 

• An antique firearm, as specified.  
 
This bill provides if the firearm is a handgun, a violation of this section is punishable by 
imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year, or by a fine not to exceed one thousand 
dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.  For all other firearms, a violation of this 
section is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed six months, or by a fine not 
to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.  Each firearm 
found to be in violation of this section constitutes a distinct and separate offense. This section 
does not preclude prosecution under any other law providing for a greater penalty. 
 
This bill requires the DOJ to maintain electronic records of all persons that receive a unique 
serial number or other mark, and notify the DOJ that it has been engraved or affixed to the 
firearm.   
 
This bill requires DOJ to maintain and make available upon request information concerning both 
of the following: 
 

• The number of serial numbers issued, as specified. 
 

• The number of arrests for violations of Section 29180. 
 
This bill allows the DOJ to charge a fee for applications to administer the costs of electronic 
tracking and would authorize the DOJ to use the Dealer Record of Sales (DROS) account to 
cover actual costs associated with this legislation.  
 

RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION 
 

For the past several years this Committee has scrutinized legislation referred to its jurisdiction 
for any potential impact on prison overcrowding.  Mindful of the United States Supreme Court 
ruling and federal court orders relating to the state’s ability to provide a constitutional level of 
health care to its inmate population and the related issue of prison overcrowding, this Committee 
has applied its “ROCA” policy as a content-neutral, provisional measure necessary to ensure that 
the Legislature does not erode progress in reducing prison overcrowding.    
 
On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    
 

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

 
In December of 2015 the administration reported that as “of December 9, 2015, 112,510 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounts to 136.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 5,264 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  The current population is 
1,212 inmates below the final court-ordered population benchmark of 137.5% of design bed 
capacity, and has been under that benchmark since February 2015.”  (Defendants’ December 
2015 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-
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Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)  One year ago, 115,826 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounted to 140.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 8,864 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  (Defendants’ December 2014 
Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge 
Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)   
  
While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).  The Committee’s consideration of bills that may impact the prison population 
therefore will be informed by the following questions: 
 

• Whether a proposal erodes a measure which has contributed to reducing the prison 
population; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a major area of public safety or criminal activity for which 
there is no other reasonable, appropriate remedy; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a crime which is directly dangerous to the physical safety 
of others for which there is no other reasonably appropriate sanction;  

• Whether a proposal corrects a constitutional problem or legislative drafting error; and 
• Whether a proposal proposes penalties which are proportionate, and cannot be achieved 

through any other reasonably appropriate remedy. 

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill 
 
According to the author:  
 

Under the Gun Control Act of 1968, it is illegal for an unlicensed person to make 
a firearm for sale or distribution.  However a loophole in the law allows for the 
construction of firearms by unlicensed individuals so long as the firearms are 
made for personal use and not sold or transferred. These homemade guns are 
assembled through the purchase of unfinished receivers, or 80 percent completed 
lower receivers.  Unfinished receivers, the engine of a firearm, are not technically 
considered firearms because of their incomplete stage and thus do not require a 
serial number or background check for purchase.  With an unfinished receiver, a 
firearm parts kit, and basic drilling machinery, an individual can assemble a fully 
functional firearm without being subject to the requirements placed on all other 
firearms transactions—no serialization or background check on the owner.  
 
This loophole poses an increasingly daunting challenge for law enforcement. As 
reported in the Sac Bee (December 19, 2015) “California black market surges for 
‘ghost guns’,” there is an emerging black market for these homemade guns, or 
ghost guns, because they allow criminals and other dangerous individuals to 
circumvent background checks and other California firearms laws, including the 
state’s assault weapons ban.  Because these firearms are assembled privately and 
do not produce a sales record, no one knows they exist until a crime is committed.  
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Federal and state officials have seized hundreds of these weapons in a series of 
ongoing undercover operations. 
 
Another telling example is the June 2013 shooting in Santa Monica by John 
Zawahri, who killed five people using a gun assembled at home. Although 
Zawahri was denied a firearms purchase by the Department of Justice because of 
mental illness concerns, he was able to skirt the law by purchasing a lower 
receiver online, which he modified to craft the AR-15 style rifle that was used in 
the shooting. Similarly, just law year, ghost guns were used in a murder-suicide in 
Walnut Creek.  
 
The development of technologies that make the manufacture of weapons 
accessible to the general public raises questions about whether homemade guns 
are being made by gang members, felons, and other prohibited individuals. 
Without specific measures that address the dangers posed by these self-made 
guns, criminals will exploit the technologies at the expense of public safety—as is 
proving to be the case throughout the state. 

 
2. Recent Events 
 
According to a July 15, 2013, briefing prepared by the Minority Staff of the Committee on 
Energy and Commerce, United States House of Representatives:  
 

On June 7, 2013, John Zawahri, 23, killed five people and injured several more during a 
shooting rampage that lasted approximately 13 minutes in Santa Monica, California.  He 
first shot and killed his father, Samir Zawahri, and brother, Christopher, at their home.  
He then pulled over and carjacked Laurie Sisk, forcing her to drive at gunpoint to Santa 
Monica College.  Zawahri shot at numerous cars, pedestrians, and a bus en route, killing 
the college’s groundskeeper, Carlos Franco, and his daughter, Marcela.  Upon arriving at 
the campus, he then fatally shot another woman, Margarita Gomez.  He then entered the 
school library, where he attempted to kill several library patrons who were hiding in a 
safe room.  Police, who had been alerted to the shooting and to Zawahri’s location by 
numerous 911 calls, exchanged gunfire in the library with the shooter and pronounced 
him dead at the scene.  According to authorities, Zawahri fired approximately 100 rounds 
in total. 

 
Zawahri had a history of mental illness.  In 2006, a teacher at his high school discovered 
Zawahri researching assault weapons online.  School officials contacted the police and 
he was subsequently admitted to the psychiatric ward at the University of California, 
Los Angeles Medical Center.  Zawahri attempted to buy a weapon in 2011, but a 
background check conducted by the California Department of Justice found him 
ineligible and denied the purchase.  The reasons for this denial have not been publicly 
released. 

  
Zawahri used a modified AR-15 rifle in the shooting and also carried a .44-caliber 
handgun.  He possessed more than 1,300 rounds of ammunition.  The AR-15 rifle is the 
same type of gun used in the mass shootings that occurred in Aurora, Colorado, and 
Newtown, Connecticut.  The AR-15 firearm held 30 rounds.  California state law bans 
the sale of AR-15 rifles with a magazine capacity greater than ten rounds.  Authorities 
believe that Zawahri assembled his AR-15 rifle using parts he bought in pieces from a 
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number of different sources, including an 80% completed lower receiver.  Police found a 
drill press at Zawahri’s home, a tool that can make holes in the lower receiver to 
complete the weapon.  (Citations Omitted.)   

 
The manufacturing and selling of illegal guns continues to be an issue in California:  
   

Manufacturing and selling illegal guns -- including so-called “ghost guns” -- is the 
most common type of investigation the Sacramento Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco 
and Firearms deals with. 

 
“Ghost guns” are missing a serial number and have been manufactured with parts 
likely bought online. 

 
“In this office we find quite a few of them and we have made a number of cases over the 
last few years of people that are selling these firearms for profit, and I would expect that 
we continue to make those types of cases,” said ATF spokesman Graham Barlowe. 
 
Last October, two brothers were indicted for illegally manufacturing and selling guns in 
Sacramento. Agents seized 345 guns as part of that investigation. 
 
Daniel Crowninshield, who is also known as “Dr. Death,” was also indicted last year for 
manufacturing unlicensed firearms, using computer-controlled machines at a North 
Sacramento metal shop. 
 
In Elk Grove, machinist Richard Gray usually restores cars at his shop, but said he has 
had people bring in parts claiming they need a broken gun fixed. 
 
“But (I) then started realizing that wasn’t exactly what they were doing. What they were 
really doing was trying to create a gun that didn't have any serial numbers on it,” Gray 
said. 
 
Now, Gray said he won’t accept any type of firearm. 
 
“We just tell them straight up that we’re not in that kind of business.”  
 
He’s a supporter for stricter legislation on assembling guns, but thinks it’ll make illegal 
gun manufacturers more desperate. 
 
“They’re gonna go someplace else. They’re gonna get the parts and bring them in here by 
hook or crook,” he said. 
 
There are several websites dedicated to selling parts to build any firearm. 
 
“We do have cases ongoing at this time, and as I said, I would expect that we’ll have 
cases, we’ll be opening cases in the months and year following until, really until there’s a 
change in the way that we see this problem,” Barlowe said. 
 

(Dana Griffin, ATF: 'Ghost guns' a growing trend in Sacramento area, August 6, 2015, 
http://www.kcra.com/news/atf-ghost-guns-a-growing-trend-in-sacramento-area/34586452.)  
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In 2016, the federal grand jury returned an indictment against Craig Mason, of Auburn, charging 
him with unlawful dealing and manufacturing firearms:  

 
According to court documents, Mason and others involved in the scheme sold the 
parts necessary to assemble a firearm. Mason operated a workshop on his 
property that he used to manufacture firearms by converting AR-15-style blanks 
into lower receivers. 
 
A “blank” is a metal casting that is not considered a firearm by ATF. It is 
converted into a “lower receiver” by using a drill press or automated machine to 
create the precise shape and space necessary for the lower receiver to accept the 
parts that will allow the firing of a projectile. These parts (e.g., the hammer, bolt 
or breechlock, and firing mechanism) are the internal mechanical parts that 
combine with a trigger, firing pin, and other parts to form a functioning firearm. 
Once the blank is converted to a lower receiver, it is considered firearm by statute, 
even if there is no barrel, handle, or trigger, etc., and it is subject to regulation. 
 
On April 23, 2013, Mason manufactured two AR-15-style lower receivers for an 
ATF confidential informant. Despite being told that the confidential informant 
had been to prison and therefore prohibited from possessing a firearm, Mason 
created the firearms and sold his services to the confidential informant. 
 

(https://www.atf.gov/news/pr/auburn-man-indicted-illegally-manufacturing-firearms.)  
 
3.  Effect of This Legislation  
 
SB 1407 would require any person who manufactures or assembles a firearm to first obtain a 
serial number from the DOJ and demonstrate that he or she is not prohibited from owning 
firearms.  Specifically, any person who manufactures or assembles a firearm will be required to:  
 

• Obtain a unique serial number or other mark from the Department of Justice  
prior to making or assembling a firearm;  

• Within ten days of making or assembling to engrave or permanently affix the unique 
serial number or other mark to the firearm; and,  

• Notify the Department of Justice once the serial number or other mark is affixed to the 
firearm. 

 
Prior to the DOJ providing the person with a unique serial number or other mark, the person 
must:  
 

• Present proof the applicant is not prohibited by state or federal law. 
• Present proof of age and identity.  The applicant must be 18 years of age or older to 

obtain a unique serial number or mark of identification for a firearm that is not a 
handgun, and must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a unique serial number or mark 
of identification for a handgun. 

• Provide a description of the firearm that he or she owns or intends to manufacture or 
assemble, in a manner prescribed by the department. 

• Have a valid firearm safety certificate or handgun safety certificate. 
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There are no provisions in existing law that prevent a person from buying an 80% lower 
receiver1 and then making it into a fully functional firearm.  Because 80% lower receivers are not 
considered firearms, a person purchasing them does not have to go through a federal firearms 
dealer, and does not have to undergo a background check.  According to the author, SB 1407 will 
help to close this loophole.  
 
4.  Senate Bill 808 Veto Message 
 
In 2014, the Governor vetoed a virtually identical piece of legislation, SB 808 (De León), stating:  
 

I am returning Senate Bill 808 without my signature. 
 
SB 808 would require individuals who build guns at home to first obtain a serial number 
and register the weapon with the Department of Justice. 
 
I appreciate the author’s concerns about gun violence, but I can't see how adding a serial 
number to a homemade gun would significantly advance public safety.  

 
5.  Argument in Support 
 
According to the California Police Chiefs Association:  
 

The California Police Chiefs Association supports Senate Bill 1407, which would require 
a person who manufactures or assembles a firearm, or owns a firearm that does not bear a 
serial number, to apply to the Department of Justice for a unique serial number or other 
identifying mark.  
 
There are no provisions in existing law that prevent a person from manufacturing or 
buying an 80% lower receiver—the basis of a firearm—and then making it into a fully 
functional firearm.  Furthermore, the accessibility of these parts have become 
increasingly easier to acquire with the invention of 3D printers.  Because 80% lower 
receivers are not considered firearms, a person purchasing them does not have to go 
through a federal firearms dealer, and does not have to undergo a background check.  
This has created a loophole that allows prohibited felons, gang members, and mentally ill 
individuals to obtain firearms against the intent of our laws. 
 
California has some of the strictest firearm regulations in the nation.  The laws are meant 
to keep our neighborhoods safer and aid law enforcements fight against gun violence, 
while still protecting the rights of responsible gun owners.  Essential to each, in the 
ability to track and verify the ownership of each firearm in the state.  It is detrimental to 
public safety and law enforcement’s ability to solve crimes if there are innumerable 
firearms in circulation without serialization or registration.  If we do not begin to address 
this problem now, the number of shootings involving untraceable firearms will become a 
much heavier burden on law enforcement, and the victims of gun violence, in the future.   

 

                                            
1 According to Tactical Machining, “An 80% Receiver is a partially completed piece of material that requires 
special tooling and skills to be completed and considered a firearm.”  (http://www.tacticalmachining.com/80-lower-
receiver.html.)  
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6.  Argument in Opposition 
 
According to the National Rifle Association:  
 

SB 1407 would make it a crime under California law for an individual to manufacture a 
firearm without first obtaining California Department of Justice (DOJ) approval to do so 
and subsequently engraving a DOJ-provided serial number on the firearm.  This 
legislation should be opposed because it will effectively nullify the long-standing and 
constitutionally protected activity of building one’s own firearms.  Additionally, SB 1407 
will promote the destruction and devaluation of existing firearms without any tangible 
public safety benefit. 
  
First, precluding an individual from manufacturing a firearm without first obtaining 
government approval infringes on the longstanding American tradition of manufacturing 
a personal firearm.  From prior to the Revolution to the Civil War most Americans were 
intimately involved in constructing and designing their own firearms. (See Peter Jensen-
Haxel,3D Printers, Obsolete Firearm Supply Controls, and the Right to Build Self-
Defense Weapons Under Heller, 42 Golden Gate U. L. Rev. 447, 477-78 (2012).)  Even 
though this involvement faded somewhat in other parts of the country with the rise of 
nineteenth-century industrialization, it remained a fundamental part of Californian 
identity well into the twentieth-century, as many in the unpopulated frontier of the 
American West continued to manufacture their own firearms. (Lawrence P. 
Shelton, California Gunsmiths 1846-1900, 5 (1977).)  This tradition continues to this day, 
with many Californians manufacturing their own firearms without seeking government 
permission to do so. 
  
As the U.S. Supreme Court has made clear, the Second Amendment protects the 
“ancient” and “natural” right to keep and bear arms. (District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 
U.S. 570, 599 (2008).)  The Court went to great lengths to explain that the scope of that 
right is defined by the public’s understanding of the Second Amendment at the time of 
the founding. (Id. at 605.)  Accordingly, given this unobstructed and long-standing 
tradition of personally manufacturing firearms stretching from the Revolutionary War to 
the present, SB 1407’s requirement that individuals receive government approval to 
manufacture their personal firearms violates the Second Amendment. 
  
Moreover, the restrictions imposed by this legislation are wholly unwarranted.  State and 
federal laws already prohibit people from possessing dangerous firearms.  For example, it 
is already illegal for any member of the general public to make or possess an assault 
weapon. (See Cal. Penal Code §§ 30600 and 30605.)  Similarly, the manufacture and 
possession of machineguns, short-barreled shotguns and short-barreled rifles are highly 
regulated under state and federal and law. (26 U.S.C. § 5861; Cal. Penal Code §§ 32625, 
33210.)  And potentially dangerous people convicted of felony offenses, subject to a 
restraining order, or adjudicated mentally defective, already may not possess firearms. 
(18 U.S.C. § 922(g); Cal. Penal Code §§ 29800, 29825; Cal. Welf. & Inst. Code § 
8103.)  Because it is already a crime for people to possess these dangerous firearms, and 
for potentially dangerous people to possess any firearms, it is highly unlikely that SB 
1407 will do anything of use to keep potentially dangerous weapons out of the hands of 
those who shouldn’t have them. Thus, SB 1407 will only serve to waste scarce law 
enforcement resources by creating additional red-tape to regulate the activities of 
responsible firearm owners. 
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Make no mistake, SB 1407 will effectively end the practice of personally manufacturing 
firearms in California. Section 5 of this bill requires that each person, within one day of 
manufacturing or assembling a firearm, affix a unique serial number provided by DOJ, 
and that the number be engraved in a manner that meets or exceeds the requirements 
imposed on federally licensed firearms manufactures.  The problem is the federal 
requirements, designed for companies that are in the business of manufacturing firearms 
for national distribution, are extensive.  A manufacture must stamp, at a minimum depth 
of .003 inch, the firearm’s serial number, model, and caliber, as well as the name of the 
manufacturer, and the city and state where manufactured. 27 C.F.R. § 478.92.[1]  Needless 
to say, precisely engraving all this information requires highly sophisticated equipment 
that most Californian manufacturing hobbyists do not have and cannot afford.  Thus, SB 
1407 will without a doubt price most Californians out of personal firearms 
manufacturing. 
  
Additionally, this legislation would cause firearm owners to damage and/or significantly 
diminish the value of their firearms.  This bill etches out minor exceptions to its 
requirements.  One being the fact that it does not require the markings for a “firearm 
made or assembled prior to December 16, 1968, that is not a handgun.”  The year 1968 is 
significant because that is the year the federal Gun Control Act was enacted.  The Gun 
Control Act significantly enhanced the 1958 Treasury Department regulations 
promulgated under the Federal Firearms Act, which required that firearms be stamped 
with a specific serial number.  Gun Control Act of 1968 § 923(i).  While this law creates 
an exception for non-handguns, it requires handguns made prior to 1968 to be defaced by 
adding a serial number.  Any make defacing a firearm of that age will result in a 
diminution of that firearm’s value. 
  
Finally, SB 1407 creates significant confusion over when manufacturers must have their 
firearms engraved.  Specifically, this bill defines “firearm” to include the unfinished 
frame or receiver of a weapon that can be “readily converted” to the functional condition 
of a finished frame or receiver.  Accordingly, personal firearm manufactures are required 
to obtain and affix a DOJ serial number, at some undefined point in the middle of the 
manufacturing process when the raw materials for a firearm are “readily convertible” into 
a firearm.  And to make matters worse, SB 1407 never defines the term “readily 
convertible,” leaving it up to personal manufactures to guess if they are far enough in the 
manufacturing process to obtain a serial number and affix it to an unfinished frame and 
receiver.  If the manufacturer guesses wrong, he or she is guilty of a crime. 
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