
SENATESENATESENATESENATE    COMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ONCOMMITTEE ON    PUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETYPUBLIC SAFETY    
Senator Nancy Skinner, Chair 

2017 - 2018  Regular  

Bill No: SB 303   Hearing Date:    April 25, 2017     
Author: Morrell 
Version: April 17, 2017      
Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes 
Consultant: MK  

Subject:  Crimes:  Pimping, Pandering, and Solicitation of Prostitution of a Minor 

HISTORY 

Source: Author 

Prior Legislation: None 

Support: Unknown 

Opposition: American Civil Liberties Union; California Attorneys for Criminal Justice; 
California Public Defenders Association 

   
PURPOSE 

 
The purpose of this bill is to increase the penalty for human trafficking of a minor and 
solicitation of a minor. 
 
Existing law provides that a person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with 
the intent to obtain forced labor or services, is guilty of human trafficking and shall be punished 
by imprisonment in the state prison for 5, 8 or 12 years and a fine of not more than $5,000 (plus 
approximately 310% in penalty assessments) (Penal Code § 236.1(a)) 
 
Existing law provides that a person who deprives or violates the personal liberty of another with 
the intent to effect or maintain a violation of specified offenses relating to pimping, pandering or 
obscene matter is guilty of human trafficking and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state 
prison for 8, 14 or 20 years and a fine of not more than $5,000 (plus approximately 310% in 
penalty assessments). (Penal Code § 236.1(b)) 
 
Existing law provides that a person who caused, induces or persuades, or attempts to cause, 
induce or persuade, a person who is a minor at the time of the commission of the offense to 
engage in a commercial sex act with the intent to effect or maintain a violation of specified 
pimping, pandering or obscene matter related offenses is guilty of human trafficking punishable 
as follows: 

• Five, 8 or 12 years and a fine of not more than $500,000 (plus approximately 
310% in penalty assessments). 

• Fifteen years to life and a fine of not more than $500,000 (plus approximately 
310% in penalty assessments) when the offense involves force, fear, fraud, deceit, 
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coercion, violence, duress, menace, or threat of unlawful injury to the victim or to 
another person. (Penal Code § 236.1(c)) 

 
This bill provides if it is pled and proven that the the victim in a violation of Penal Code Section 
236. Was under 16 years of age at the time of the offense, the court shall impose an additional 
consecutive term of three, four or five years in state prison. 
 
Existing law defines misdemeanor disorderly conduct as including an individual who solicits, or 
who agrees to engage in, or who engages in, any act of prostitution with the intent to receive 
compensation, money, or anything of value from another person. An individual agrees to engage 
in an act of prostitution when, with specific intent to so engage, he or she manifests an 
acceptance of an offer or solicitation by another person to so engage, regardless of whether the 
offer or solicitation was made by a person who also possessed the specific intent to engage in an 
act of prostitution. (Penal Code § 647 (b)(1) 
 
Existing law also defines misdemeanor disorderly conduct as including an individual who 
solicits, or agrees to engage in, or who engages in, any act of prostitution with another person 
who is 18 years of age or older in exchange for the individual providing compensation, money, 
or anything of value to the other person. An individual agrees to engage in an act of prostitution 
when, with the specific intent to so engage, he or she manifests an acceptance of an offer or 
solicitation by another person who is 18 years of age or older to so engage, regardless of whether 
the offer or solicitation was made by a person who also possessed the specific intent to engage in 
an act of prostitution. (Penal Code § 647(b)(2)) 
 
Existing law also defines misdemeanor disorderly conduct as including an individual who 
solicits, or who agrees to engage in, or who engages in, any act of prostitution with another 
person who is a minor in exchange for the individual providing compensation, money or 
anything of value to the minor. An individual agrees to engage in an act of prostitution when, 
with the specific intent to so engage, he or she manifests an acceptance of an offer or solicitation 
by someone who is a minor to so engage, regardless of whether the offer or solicitation was 
made by a minor who also possessed the specific intent to engage in an act of prostitution. (Penal 
Code § 647(b)(3)) 
 
Existing law provides that if a crime is committed in violation of Penal Code Section 647 (b) and 
the person who was solicited was a minor at the time of the offense, and if the defendant knew or 
should have known the person who was solicited was a minor at the time of the offense, the 
violation is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than two days and not 
more than one year and/or by a fine not exceeding $10,000 (plus approximately 310% penalty 
assessments).  The court may, in unusual cases, when the interests of justice are best served, 
reduce or eliminate the mandatory two days’ imprisonment. (Penal Code § 647(m)) 
 
This bill instead makes the penalty for solicitation of a minor a wobbler with a penalty of six 
months to one year in the county jail and/or by a fine not exceeding $15,000 (plus approximately 
310% penalty assessments) or by imprisonment in the county fail for 2, 3 or 4 years. 
 
This bill deletes the specific authorization for a court to reduce the sentence in the interest of 
justice. 
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COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 
 
According to the author: 
 

The Los Angeles Times has reported that, “an analysis of jail data has found that 
incarceration in some counties has been curtailed or virtually eliminated for a 
variety of misdemeanors.”1 Realignment has brought about numerous 
overcrowding issues for county jails. As a result, these counties have had to begin 
to find ways to reduce their jail populations. In order to do this, jails have begun to 
look to misdemeanants as candidates for early release. In fact, according to this 
analysis, in some counties misdemeanants virtually serve no time at all.  
The most recent data from the BSCC–PPIC Multi-County Study found that the 
average length of stay in a county jail for a misdemeanor offense against a person 
was only 18 days in 2015, while the average length of stay for a felony offense 
against a person was 84 days. 2 
 
The current penalty under California law for the solicitation of a minor for 
prostitution is a simple misdemeanor enhancement punishable only by, 
“imprisonment in a county jail for not less than two days and not more than one 
year, or by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), or by both that fine 
and imprisonment.” Given the recent move towards early releases for 
misdemeanants, this penalty does not adequately match the heinous nature of the 
crime committed. 
 
SB 303 seeks to remedy this by taking the measured approach of giving judges the 
additional option of sentencing, pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 (a 
realigned felony), a predator who solicits and engages in prostitution with a minor. 
This approach takes into account recent concerns with prison overcrowding and 
allows for time to be served in a county jail. It also allows judges the discretion of 
continuing to sentence these crimes as misdemeanor enhancements as prescribed in 
current law.  
 
In addition, California law currently recognizes the heinous nature of pimping, 
pandering, and procurement of a minor under the age of 16 for the purposes of 
prostitution. Under Penal Code Sections 266h, 266i, and 266j there are separate 
penalties established for a minor who is under the age of 18 and a minor who is 
under the age of 16. The penalties established for a minor under the age of 16 are 
greater. These provisions are especially important when we look at the fact that the 
U.S. Department of Homeland Security has reported that the average age of a child 
entering prostitution in the United States is between 11 and 143 years of age.  
However, under Penal Code 236.1, which was established when voters passed 
Proposition 35 in 2012, there is no separate increased punishment for a minor who 
is under the age of 16. SB 303 would correct this omission from Penal Code 

                                            
1 http://www.latimes.com/local/crime/la-me-ff-early-release-20140817-story.html  
2 http://www.ppic.org/main/publication_quick.asp?i=1210  
3 https://www.dhs.gov/sites/default/files/publications/blue-campaign/Blue%20Campaign%20-
%20Human%20Trafficking%20101%20for%20School%20Administrators%20and%20Staff.pdf 
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Section 236.1, and provide an increased penalty for the trafficking of a young child 
under the age of 16.  
 
Child prostitution is a significant problem in California, which has 3 of the 13 FBI-
designated “High Intensity Child Prostitution Areas.” These areas include Los 
Angeles, San Diego, and San Francisco.4 SB 303 seeks to protect these most 
vulnerable members of our communities by increasing these insufficient penalties 
on those who wish to victimize and brutalize them  

 
2.  Ongoing Concerns over Prison Overcrowding  

On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

The court also ordered California to implement the following population reduction measures in 
its prisons: 

• Increase prospective credit earnings for non-violent second-strike inmates as well as 
minimum custody inmates.  

• Allow non-violent second-strike inmates who have reached 50 percent of their total 
sentence to be referred to the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) for parole consideration.  

• Release inmates who have been granted parole by BPH but have future parole dates.  
• Expand the CDCR’s medical parole program.  
• Allow inmates age 60 and over who have served at least 25 years of incarceration to be 

considered for parole.  
• Increase its use of reentry services and alternative custody programs. 

(Opinion Re: Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of 
December 31, 2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. 
Brown, Plata v. Brown (2-10-14).) Following the implementation of these measures along with 
the passage of Proposition 47, approved by California voters in November 2014, California met 
the federal court’s population cap in December 2015. (Defendants’ December 2015 Status 
Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, 
Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown.) The administration’s most recent status report states that as 
“of December 14, 2016, 114,031 inmates were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions” which 
amounts to approximately 135.3% of design capacity, and 4,704 inmates were housed in out-of-
state facilities. (Defendants’ December 2016 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 
Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. 
omitted).)   

While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 

                                            
4 https://oig.justice.gov/reports/FBI/a0908/chapter4.htm#122  
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Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).   

3.  Additional Penalty for Human Trafficking 

Existing law sets for the penalties for human trafficking. A person who deprives the liberty of a 
person for forced labor is punished by 5, 8 or 12 year in prison and up to a $500,000 fine 
(approximately $2,050,00 with penalty assessments). A person who causes or persuades a minor 
to engage in a commercial sex act is guilty punishable in the state prison for 5, 8 or 12 years and 
up to a $500,000 fine (approximately $2,050,00 with penalty assessments) or 15 to life and the 
fine if the offense involves, force, fear, fraud, deceit, coercion, violence etc. 

This bill would provide that in addition to the penalty for human trafficking for commercial sex,  
if it is proven that the victim was less than 16 years of age the court shall impose and addition 
term of 3, 4 or 5 years in state prison. 

In light of the already significant penalty for human trafficking, and the overcrowding that is still 
occurring in our prisons, is this additional penalty appropriate? 

4. Solicitation of a Minor 

Existing law provides that the penalty for solicitation of a minor, that the person knew or should 
have known was a minor, is two days to one year in jail and/or a fine of not more than $10,000 
($410,000 with penalty assessments). Existing law also provides that the court may, in unusual 
circumstance eliminate the mandatory two days. 

This bill instead provides that solicitation of a minor is a wobbler with a penalty of 6 months to 
one year in county jail and/or by a fine of $15,000 ($61,500 with penalty assessments) or  2, 3 or 
4 years in the county jail. This bill also deletes the court’s discretion to eliminate the minimum 
sentence. 

Under existing law, a person who is soliciting a minor may also be charged with any number of 
offenses, or attempted offenses, relating to child abuse thus misdemeanors and felonies are 
already available for the offense in this bill. Should solicitation of a minor, where the prosecutor 
is not inclined to charge it as child abuse, be potentially subject to a felony? The author’s 
background talks about concerns over jail overcrowding but this bill adds to that by creating a 
jail felony of 2, 3 or 4 years. 

While the section amended by this bill had a specific reference to court discretion to eliminate 
the minimal jail time, and this bill eliminates that, the judge always has the discretion to place a 
person on probation so eliminating the explicit discretion is unlikely to have any impact. 

 

-- END – 

 


