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HISTORY 

Source: Author 

Prior Legislation: AB 202 (Knox) – Chap. 128, Stats. of 1999 
   AB 532 (Knox) – Failed passage on Assembly Floor, 1997-98  
 
Support: California Chapters of the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence; City of 

Long Beach; Coalition Against Gun Violence, A Santa Barbara County Coalition; 
Women Against Gun Violence; Rabbis Against Gun Violence; Violence 
Prevention Coalition of Greater Los Angeles; San Francisco Bay Area Physicians 
for Social Responsibility; California Academy of Family Physicians; Courage 
Campaign; Friends Committee on Legislation of California; One individual 

 
Opposition: California Rifle and Pistol Association; California Waterfowl Association; 

Deputies of the Mono County Deputy Sheriff’s Association; Firearms Policy 
Coalition; Glenn County Rangeland Association; Gun Owners of California; 
National Rifle Association of America; National Shooting Sports Foundation                  
                                                                                                                                         

Assembly Floor Vote: 44 - 33 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to: (1) prohibit any person from making an application to purchase 
more than one firearm within any 30-day period, as specified; and, (2) delete from the existing 
prohibition related to the purchase of more than one handgun in any 30-day period an 
exemption for a private part transfer through a licensed firearms dealer, as specified.  
 
Existing law prohibits any person from making an application to purchase more than one 
handgun within any 30-day period.  (Penal Code § 27535(a).) 
 
Existing law exempts from the above 30-day prohibition any of the following: 
 

• Any law enforcement agency; 
 

• Any agency duly authorized to perform law enforcement duties; 
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• Any state or local correctional facility; 
 

• Any private security company licensed to do business in California; 
 

• Any person who is a peace officer, as specified, and is authorized to carry a firearm in the 
course and scope of employment; 
 

• Any motion picture, television, video production company or entertainment or theatrical 
company whose production by its nature involves a firearm; 
 

• Any authorized representative of a law enforcement agency, or a federally licensed 
firearms importer or manufacturer; 
 

• Any private party transaction conducted through a licensed firearms dealer; 
 

• Any person who is a licensed collector and has a current certificate of eligibility issued 
by the DOJ;  
 

• The exchange, replacement, or return of a handgun to a licensed dealer within the 30-day 
period; and, 
 

• A community college that is certified by the Commission on POST to present law 
enforcement academy basic course or other commission- certified training.  (Penal Code 
§ 27535(b).) 
 

Existing law prohibits a handgun from being delivered when a licensed firearms dealer is notified 
by the DOJ that within the preceding 30-day period the purchaser has made another application 
to purchase a handgun and the purchase was not exempted, as specified.  (Penal Code § 
27540(f).) 
 
Existing law provides that the penalties for making more than one application to purchase a 
handgun within any 30-day period is as follows: 
 

• A first violation is an infraction punishable by a fine of fifty dollars ($50); 
 

• A second violation is an infraction punishable by a fine of one hundred ($100); and, 
 

• A third violation is a misdemeanor.  (Penal Code § 27590(e)(1)-(3).) 
 
This bill prohibits any person from making an application to purchase more than one long gun 
within any 30-day period. 

This bill deletes from the existing prohibition related to the purchase of more than one handgun 
in any 30-day period an exemption for a private part transfer through a licensed firearms dealer, 
as specified. 
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RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION 
 

For the past several years this Committee has scrutinized legislation referred to its jurisdiction 
for any potential impact on prison overcrowding.  Mindful of the United States Supreme Court 
ruling and federal court orders relating to the state’s ability to provide a constitutional level of 
health care to its inmate population and the related issue of prison overcrowding, this Committee 
has applied its “ROCA” policy as a content-neutral, provisional measure necessary to ensure that 
the Legislature does not erode progress in reducing prison overcrowding.    
 
On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    
 

• 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
• 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
• 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

 
In December of 2015 the administration reported that as “of December 9, 2015, 112,510 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounts to 136.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 5,264 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  The current population is 
1,212 inmates below the final court-ordered population benchmark of 137.5% of design bed 
capacity, and has been under that benchmark since February 2015.”  (Defendants’ December 
2015 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-
Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)  One year ago, 115,826 inmates 
were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions, which amounted to 140.0% of design bed 
capacity, and 8,864 inmates were housed in out-of-state facilities.  (Defendants’ December 2014 
Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge 
Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. omitted).)   
  
While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).  The Committee’s consideration of bills that may impact the prison population 
therefore will be informed by the following questions: 
 

• Whether a proposal erodes a measure which has contributed to reducing the prison 
population; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a major area of public safety or criminal activity for which 
there is no other reasonable, appropriate remedy; 

• Whether a proposal addresses a crime which is directly dangerous to the physical safety 
of others for which there is no other reasonably appropriate sanction;  

• Whether a proposal corrects a constitutional problem or legislative drafting error; and 
• Whether a proposal proposes penalties which are proportionate, and cannot be achieved 

through any other reasonably appropriate remedy. 
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COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Legislation 

According to the author: 
 
Historically, policymakers have believed that the bulk of gun violence has been 
perpetuated by handguns.  Absent any data collection and analysis to the contrary, 
this perception has held for several decades, and has resulted in current law in 
California which limits new handgun purchases to one per month per person. 

 
Recent data collection efforts in the state and elsewhere have begun to refute this 
theory, however.  In fact, examining forensic data collected from the mass 
shootings that have occurred in the United States throughout the last 30 years, 
shows that 72 (exactly half) of the weapons used in those crimes were long guns: 
rifles, shotguns, and semi-automatic versions thereof.  Of the 11 mass shootings 
in California, nearly the same is true: 12 long guns were used along with 16 
handguns. 
 
It should be noted that in mass shooting cases, analysis shows that nearly 80% of 
shooters (including those in San Bernardino) obtained their guns legally. 

 
Long guns are a significant piece of California’s gun trafficking problem, as well.  
Over the past ten years, Californians have typically purchased more long guns 
than handguns, including 538,149 guns in 2013.  Of the 26,682 crime guns 
entered into the California Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Automated Firearms 
Systems (AFS) database in 2009, 11,500 were long guns.  Furthermore, DOJ has 
found that half the illegal firearms recovered from prohibited persons are long 
guns. 
 
A 2007 University of Pennsylvania report to the National Institute of Justice 
found that a quarter of all guns used in crime were purchased as part of a multi-
gun sale and that guns purchased in bulk were up to 64% more likely to be used 
for illegal purposes than guns purchased individually. 
  
Reducing gun violence is an issue that is of vital importance to me.  In April 
2014, one person purchased 144 long guns in California in one single transaction.  
It is mind boggling that a person (no matter their intentions) could purchase as 
many rifles or shotguns they want at any given time.  It is past time for us to treat 
long guns the same as handguns – they hold equal powers of destruction and 
create major problems for law enforcement, and society in general, when they fall 
into the wrong hands.  

 
AB 1674 will limit purchases of guns to one per month.  This includes both 
purchases of used guns and new long guns.  With data showing compelling 
evidence that long guns are used in crimes at similar rates to handguns, they 
should be treated no differently.  In fact, California already maintains parity 
between these types of guns in both background checks and sale records.  AB 
1674 takes the remaining step by creating parity in purchase limitations. 
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2.  History of One-Handgun-a-Month Law 
 
According to the Senate Public Safety Analysis of Assembly Bill 202 (Knox, of 1999), which 
created the one-handgun-a-month law in California: 
 

The State of Virginia enacted a “one-handgun-a-month” law in 1993 (before the 
Federal Brady Bill, which required at least a five day waiting period plus a 
background check for states without such requirements).  That state had weak 
restrictions on handgun sales and it has been stated that gun traffickers from New 
York City routinely traveled to Virginia to purchase quantities of weapons to take 
back for illegal sale in other states.  Purchases of more than one handgun per 30-
day period in Virginia is allowed upon completion of an "enhanced" background 
check when the purchase is for lawful business or personal use, for purposes of 
collectors, bulk sales and purchases from estates, to replace a lost or stolen 
weapon, and similar situations. 

 
Supporters of limits on purchases of handguns assume that the Virginia limits and 
the limits in this bill would only affect a very small proportion of legitimate 
handgun purchasers.  A family of two adults could still purchase 24 handguns a 
year under the provisions of both this bill and the Virginia law. 

 
Virginia repealed this law in 2012.  But, according to the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence,  
 

Virginia’s one-gun-a-month law – which was in effect from 1993 to 2012 and prohibited 
the purchase of more than one handgun per person in any 30-day period – significantly 
reduced the number of crime guns traced to Virginia dealers.  Virginia initially adopted 
its law after the state became recognized as a primary source of crime guns recovered in 
states in the northeastern U.S. After the law’s adoption, the odds of tracing a gun 
originally acquired in the Southeast to a Virginia gun dealer (as opposed to a dealer in a 
different southeastern state) dropped by: 

 
• 71% for guns recovered in New York; 
• 72% for guns recovered in Massachusetts; and 
• 66% for guns recovered in New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island 

and Massachusetts combined.  
 

(http://smartgunlaws.org/multiple-purchases-sales-of-firearms-policy-summary/ 
[footnotes omitted].)  

 
Other states that have limits on the number of firearms that can be sold in one month include:  
 

•••• California: California law prohibits any person from purchasing more than one 
handgun within any 30-day period.  In addition, a licensed firearms dealer may not 
deliver a handgun to any person following notification from the California 
Department of Justice that the purchaser has applied to acquire a handgun within the 
preceding 30-day period.  Finally, firearms dealers must conspicuously post in their 
licensed premises a warning, in block letters at least one inch in height, notifying 
purchasers of these restrictions. 
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•••• District of Columbia:   A person may not register more than one handgun in the 
District during any 30-day period.  Since every handgun must be registered, this 
amounts to a purchase and sale limitation of one handgun per 30-day period. . . 

 
•••• Maryland: Maryland prohibits any person from purchasing more than one handgun or 

assault weapon within a 30-day period.  Under limited circumstances, a person may 
be approved by the Secretary of the Maryland State Police to purchase multiple 
handguns or assault weapons in a 30-day period.  Maryland also penalizes any dealer 
or other seller who knowingly participates in an illegal purchase of a handgun or 
assault weapon. . . 

 
•••• New Jersey: New Jersey prohibits licensed firearms dealers from knowingly 

delivering more than one handgun to any person within any 30-day period.  With 
limited exceptions, no person may purchase more than one handgun within any 30-
day period.  New Jersey requires a handgun purchaser to obtain a separate permit for 
each handgun purchased, and present the permit to the seller.  The seller must keep a 
copy of each permit presented.  

 
(http://smartgunlaws.org/multiple-purchases-sales-of-firearms-policy-summary/[footnotes 
omitted].) 
 
3.  Argument in Support 
 
The California Chapters of the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence state:  
 

In 1999, legislation (AB 202) was enacted that limits purchases of handguns from 
licensed firearms dealers in California to no more than one per person per month. 
AB 202 provided a number of exemptions, including private party transactions.  
The purpose of the bill was to curb the illegal flow of handguns by taking the 
profit out of selling guns from bulk purchases on the black market.  AB 1674 
applies existing law under AB 202 to all firearms, including long guns (rifles, 
shotguns, and lower receivers), and removes the exemption for private party 
transfers.  Under AB 1674, firearms will not be delivered whenever the dealer is 
notified by the Department of Justice that within the preceding 30-day period the 
purchaser had made another application to purchase a firearm. 
 
It stands to reason that a person buying large quantities of guns at one time may 
be acting as a straw purchaser or gun trafficker.  Moreover, firearms acquired this 
way are frequently used in crime.  In fact, an ATF study of tracing data 
demonstrated that 22% of all handguns recovered in crime in 1999 were originally 
purchased as part of a multiple sale.   A similar study found that 20% of all 
handguns recovered in crime in 2000 were originally purchased as part of a 
multiple sale.   Additionally, a University of Pennsylvania report found that a 
quarter of all guns used in crime were purchased as part of a multiple-gun sale 
and that guns purchased in bulk were up to 64% more likely to be used for illegal 
purposes than guns purchased individually.   
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The California Brady Campaign believes that handguns and long guns should be 
subject to the same laws.  Sixteen years ago, it was thought that handguns made 
up an overwhelming share of crime guns, but the data shows that is no longer the 
case.  Of the 26,682 crime guns entered into the Department of Justice’s 
Automated Firearms Systems database in 2009, 11,500 were long guns.   
Additionally, DOJ has found that over the last three fiscal years, nearly half the 
illegal firearms recovered from prohibited persons through the Armed Prohibited 
Persons System are long guns.    
AB 1674 (Santiago)                                                                   
 
Over the past ten years, Californians have annually purchased more long guns 
than handguns, including 534,469 long guns in 2013.   These long guns include 
legal weapons that have military-style features and a mechanism, such as a bullet 
button, to allow for the rapid exchange of magazines and lower receivers, which 
can be assembled into military-style weapons.  Limiting multiple-gun sales within 
a short period of time for such weapons, which are more lethal than handguns, is 
clearly in the interest of public safety.   
 
The Department of Justice began to retain records of long gun purchases on 
January 1, 2014.  An analysis of the transaction data from the period January 2014 
through June 2015 shows that 81.9% of long guns were sold as a single long gun 
purchase within a 30-day period.   Clearly, the vast majority of long gun 
purchasers will not be impacted by AB 1674.  However at the opposite end of the 
spectrum, an individual purchased 177 long guns in two transactions within a one 
month period (April 2014).   Furthermore, sales to single individuals ranging from 
5 to 54 long guns per month occurred on 1,787 occasions, totaling 12,090 guns.   
Department data also shows that when multiple long guns are transferred in a sale, 
it is more than twice as likely that lower receivers are included.   The largest bulk 
sale of long guns in one month to an individual (177 long guns) was composed 
entirely of lower receivers, which can be built into illegal assault weapons and 
sold on the black market.    
 
Preventing the flow of illegal guns is important to public safety regardless of 
whether the firearm is a handgun or long gun, or purchased new from a dealer or 
through a private party transaction.  Limiting firearms sales to one gun per month 
is a recognized strategy to reduce gun trafficking and keep firearms out of 
dangerous hands.   
 

4.  Argument in Opposition 
 
According to the Firearms Policy Coalition: 
 

AB 1674 seeks to limit, chill, and, and ration a fundamental, individual right by 
making it a crime to even apply for the otherwise lawful purchase of a 
constitutionally-protected firearm more than once every thirty days.  
 
As the shooting sports experience historic growth form participation by more and 
more law-abiding people across all social, racial, gender, and financial lines, 
Assemblymember Santiago would respond by creating an artificial market cap on 
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the very instruments protected by the Second Amendment to the United States 
Constitution.  
 
In spite of a total lack of controlling regulations on the possession, transfer, and 
use of firearms in the production of movies and television, Hollywood, however, 
would be exempt from this scheme, leaving only “regular citizens” to comply 
with AB 1674. 
 
AB 1674 would additionally ban the timely, lawful transfer of private property 
between individuals (through licensed firearm dealers, no less) by eliminating the 
ability for a law-abiding California gun owner to sell, trade, or loan their firearms 
if the intended buyer or transferee has already initiated any kind of acquisition 
within the past 30 days.  
 
The Second Amendment is not a second-class right and California’s law-abiding 
residents are not second-class people. AB 1674 must be rejected for its moral and 
policy flaws if not for its blatant constitutional infirmities. 

 
-- END – 

 


