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HISTORY 

Source: Brady United Against Gun Violence California  

Prior Legislation: AB 1064 (Muratsuchi), 2019, held in Assm. Appropriations  

Support: American Academy of Pediatrics, California; California Department of Justice; 
NeverAgainCA 

Opposition: California Rifle and Pistol Association; Gun Owners of California; National Rifle 
Association; National Shooting Sports Foundation 

Assembly Floor Vote: 55 - 20 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this legislation is to authorize the Department of Justice (DOJ) to impose civil 
fines on firearms dealers for breaches of regulations or prohibitions related to their firearms 
dealers license.   

Existing law states that, in general and subject to exceptions, the business of a firearms licensee 
shall be conducted only in the buildings designated by the business license.  (Pen. Code § 26805, 
subd. (a).)  

Existing law provides an exception that a person licensed, as specified, may take possession of 
firearms and commence preparation of registers for the sale, delivery, or transfer of firearms at 
any gun show or event if the gun show or event is not conducted from any motorized or towed 
vehicle. A person conducting business shall be entitled to conduct business as authorized at any 
gun show or event in the state, without regard to the jurisdiction within this state that issued the 
license provided the person complies with all applicable laws, including, but not limited to, the 
waiting period specified, and all applicable local laws, regulations, and fees, if any.  (Pen. Code § 
26805, subd. (b)(1).) 

Existing law provides an exception for a person licensed, as specified, who may engage in the 
sale and transfer of firearms other than handguns, at specified events, subject to the prohibitions 
and restrictions contained in those sections. (Pen. Code § 26805, subd. (c)(1).) 
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Existing law provides an exception for a person licensed, as specified, who may also accept 
delivery of firearms other than handguns, outside the building designated in the license, provided 
the firearm is being donated for the purpose of sale or transfer at an auction or similar event 
specified.  (Pen. Code § 26805, subd. (c)(2).) 

Existing law provides that a firearm may be delivered to the purchaser, transferee, or person 
being loaned the firearm at one of the following places:   

1) The building designated in the license; 
2) The places specified as express exceptions; and, 
3) The place of residence of, the fixed place of business of, or on private property owned or 

lawfully possessed by, the purchaser, transferee, or person being loaned the firearm.  
(Pen. Code § 26805, subd. (d).) 

 
Existing law provides a person conducting specified firearms business shall publicly display the 
person's license issued, or a facsimile thereof, at any gun show or event, as specified in this 
subdivision.  (Pen. Code § 26805, subd. (b)(2).) 
 
Existing law requires that firearms be secured at any time when the dealer is not open for 
business, as specified.  (Pen. Code, § 26890.) 
 
This bill permits the Department of Justice (DOJ) to impose a civil fine of up to $1,000 against 
firearms dealers for a breach of specified prohibitions relating to firearms dealer licensing. 
 
This bill provides for a civil fine of up to $3,000 for breaches that subject a licensee to forfeiture 
of their firearms dealer license for either of the following: 

1) The licensee previously received written notification from the DOJ regarding the breach and 
subsequently failed to take timely corrective action; or 

2) The licensee is otherwise determined by the DOJ to have knowingly or with gross negligence 
violated a regulation or prohibition related to licensing. 

 
This bill allows DOJ to adopt regulations setting fine amounts and setting up an appeals process. 

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill  

According to the author: 
 

ATF data confirms that firearms dealers are the leading source of crime guns 
on the black market. Though California has enacted some laws to regulate gun 
dealers, it has not done enough to ensure that dealers act responsibly. Stronger 
oversight is necessary to prevent gun dealer practices that endanger our 
communities. 
  
Unfortunately, federal law enforcement has limited resources to oversee the 
more than 2,300 licensed gun dealers in our state. A 2010 Washington Post 
report found that, due to limited staffing, ATF could only inspect gun dealers 
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once per decade on average. These limitations, combined with weak state and 
federal dealer laws, allow too many bad apple gun dealers to evade 
accountability.  

2.  Imposition of Civil Fines on Firearms Dealers 

In order to operate in California, firearms dealers and license holders must have: (a) a Federal 
Firearms License; (b) a license issued by a county or other local agency and (c) a Certificate of 
Eligibility issued by the DOJ.  If a dealer has all of these items, they are included on the DOJ-
maintained centralized list that allows them to operate their business.   

This bill proposes new fines related to violations of rules imposed upon licensees.  The fines 
suggested are up to a $1,000 civil fine for simple violations, and up to $3,000 fines for violations 
when the licensee previously received written notification from the DOJ regarding the breach 
and failed to take corrective action, or the DOJ determines that the licensee committed the breach 
knowingly or with gross negligence.  The grounds for forfeiture include a wide range of conduct, 
including the following:  properly displayed license, proper delivery of a firearm, properly 
displaying firearms, prompt processing of firearms transactions, posting of warning signs, safety 
certificate compliance, checking proof of California residence, safe handling demonstrations, 
offering a firearms pamphlet, and many more.   

Arguably, imposing civil fines and allowing for an opportunity to fix licensing errors makes 
more sense than pulling a firearms dealer’s license for any violation, no matter how minor. 

3.  Argument in Support  

According to the California Department of Justice:  

In order to operate in California, firearms dealers and license holders must 
have (1) a Federal Firearms License, (2) a license issued by a county or other 
local agency, and (3) a Certificate of Eligibility issued by the DOJ.  If they 
have all of these items, they are included on the DOJ-maintained centralized 
list that allows them to operate their business.  The DOJ conducts spontaneous 
on-site inspections of dealers and license holders to ensure they are complying 
with transfer requirements, dealer record and record retention requirements, 
facility maintenance and security requirements, and waiting period 
requirements. 
 
If a dealer or license holder is out of compliance, the DOJ sends written 
notification requesting corrective action.  Follow up inspections may be 
performed to ensure corrective action has been taken.  Not every instance of 
non-compliance warrants revocation of a certificate or removal from the 
centralized list; however, DOJ lacks authority to impose progressive 
disciplinary actions.  For example, dealers and license holders are required to 
update the safety signage on their business premises with the correct font and 
text size as specified by statute.  Repeated violation for incorrect font size 
would warrant some level of penalty that is short of removal from the 
centralized list. 
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Revocation and removal from the centralized list ultimately results in a 
person’s ability to operate and is a heavy-handed consequence when an 
infraction is minor.  AB 2362 grants DOJ the ability to impose aggressive 
discipline policies that will hold dealers and license holders accountable 
without irreparably penalizing them for minor mistakes or oversight.  For 
example, a monetary fine could be imposed against a dealer or license holder 
that fails to take corrective action after receiving a warning for a minor offense. 

4.  Argument in Opposition 

According to the California Rifle and Pistol Association: 

Commencing July1. 2022, AB 2362 would authorize DOJ to impose a civil 
fine on licensed firearms dealers not exceeding $1,000 for paper work 
violations, and a civil fine not exceeding $3,000 for a violation when the 
licensee had received written notification from the DOJ regarding the violation 
and fails to take corrective action and fails to take corrective action, as 
specified, or the DOJ determines the licensee committed the violation 
knowingly or with gross negligence. 
 
The decision to bestow additional authority to the Department could lead to 
needless, punitive measures against firearms dealers who may have made an 
insignificant mistake stemming from lack of responsiveness from the DOJ.  
Existing law already regulates licensed firearms dealers and provides that a 
license is subject to forfeiture for breach of specified prohibitions of law.  In 
other words the DOJ already has the authority to terminate noncompliant 
firearms dealers! 

 

-- END – 

 


