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Subject: Criminal Procedure: Disposition of Evidence 

HISTORY 
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AB 1128 (Weber), 2017, held in Assembly Appropriations Comm. 
AB 1352 (Levine) Ch. 274, Stats. 2013 
SB 1489 (Harman), Ch. 283, Stats. 2012 
AB 1926 (Evans), Ch.167, Stats. 2010 

Support: American Civil Liberties Union of California; American Civil Liberties Union of 
San Diego and Imperial Counties; California District Attorneys Association; 
California Public Defenders Association; County of San Diego Department of the 
Public Defender; Los Angeles County District Attorney 

Opposition: None known 

Assembly Floor Vote: 78 - 0 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to extend the time period that exhibits must be retained by the court, 
custodian, or appropriate governmental entity in certain specified cases. 

Existing law requires that all exhibits which have been introduced or filed in any criminal action 
or proceeding shall be retained by the clerk of the court who must establish a procedure to 
account for the exhibits properly until final determination of the action or proceedings and the 
exhibits shall thereafter be distributed or disposed of, as provided. (Pen. Code, § 1417.) 

Existing law prohibits a court from ordering the destruction of an exhibit prior to the final 
determination of the action or proceeding. Defines the date when a criminal action or proceeding 
becomes final as follows: 

1) When no notice of appeal is filed, 30 days after the last day for filing that notice; 

2) When a notice of appeal is filed, 30 days after the date the clerk of the court receives the 
remittitur affirming the judgment; 
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3) When an order for a rehearing, a new trial, or other proceeding is granted, and the ordered 
proceedings have not been commenced within one year thereafter, one year after the date of 
the order; or, 

4) In cases where the death penalty is imposed, 30 days after the date of execution of sentence 
or one year after the defendant’s death awaiting execution. (Pen. Code, § 1417.1.) 

Existing law provides that the court may, upon application of a party entitled thereto or an agent 
designated in writing by the owner, order the exhibit delivered to that party prior to the final 
determination of the action or proceeding, upon stipulation of the parties or upon notice and 
motion under the following circumstances: 

1) Neither party will suffer prejudice; and 

2) A full and complete photographic record is made of the released exhibit and provided by the 
party to whom it is returned. (Pen. Code, § 1417.2.) 

Existing law provides that prior to the final determination of the action or proceedings, exhibits 
offered by the state or defendant shall be returned to the party offering them by order of the court 
when an exhibit poses a security, storage, or safety problem. The clerk, upon court order, must 
substitute a full and complete photographic record of any exhibit or part of any exhibit returned 
to the state, as recommended by the clerk of the court. If the exhibit is severable, the court shall 
order the clerk to retain portion of the exhibit and return the balance to the district attorney. The 
party to whom the exhibit is being returned must provide the photographic record. (Pen. Code, § 
1417.3, subd. (a).) 

Existing law states that where the court finds good cause for introduction of a toxic exhibit, 
rather than a photographic record or written chemical analysis, the court is not required to store 
the toxic exhibit. The party who introduced the exhibit is responsible for it. (Pen. Code, § 1417.3, 
subd. (b).) 

Existing law provides that 60 days after the final determination of a criminal action or 
proceeding, the clerk of the court must dispose of all exhibits introduced or filed in the case and 
remaining in the clerk’s possession, as specified. (Pen. Code, § 1417.5, subd. (a).) 

Existing law provides for the destruction or disposition of illegal or dangerous property no 
sooner than 60 days following the final determination of the criminal action or proceeding. (Pen. 
Code, § 1417.6, subd. (a).) 

Existing law states that not less than 15 days before any proposed disposition of an exhibit 
pursuant to law, the court shall notify the district attorney (or other prosecuting attorney), the 
attorney of record for each party, and each party who is not represented by counsel of the 
proposed disposition. Before the disposition, any party, at his or her own expense, may have a 
photographic record of all or part of the exhibit prepared by a person who is not a party or 
attorney of a party. The clerk of the court shall observe the taking of the photographic record 
and, upon receipt of a declaration of the person making the photographic record that the copy 
and negative of the photograph delivered to the clerk is a true, unaltered, and unretouched print 
of the photographic record taken in the presence of the clerk, the clerk shall certify the 
photographic record as such without charge and retain it unaltered for a period of 60 days 
following the final determination of the criminal action or proceeding. (Pen. Code, § 1417.7.) 
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Existing law provides that notwithstanding any other provision of law, the appropriate 
governmental entity must retain all biological material that is secured in connection with a 
criminal case for the period of time that any person remains incarcerated in connection with that 
case, unless the following conditions are met: 

1) The governmental entity notifies any person, who as a result of a felony conviction in the 
case is currently serving a term of imprisonment and who remains incarcerated in connection 
with the case, any counsel of record, the public defender in the county of conviction, the 
district attorney in the county of conviction, and the Attorney General of these provisions and 
the intent to dispose of the material; and 

2) The notifying entity does not receive, within 180 days of sending the notification, any of the 
following: 

a) A motion filed for DNA testing, as specified; 

b) A request under penalty of perjury that the material not be destroyed or disposed of 
because within 180 days the declarant will file a motion for DNA testing, unless the 
convicted person requests an extension and the governmental entity in possession of the 
evidence agrees; 

c) A declaration of innocence under penalty of perjury that has been filed with the court 
within one year of the judgment of conviction or July 1, 2001, whichever is later, as 
specified; or, 

d) No other provision of law requires that biological evidence be preserved or retained. 
(Pen. Code, § 1417.9.) 

Existing law provides notwithstanding any other provision of law, the right to receive notice 
regarding the intent to dispose biological material is absolute and shall not be waived. This 
prohibition applies to, but is not limited to, a waiver that is given as part of an agreement 
resulting in a plea of guilty or no contest. (Pen. Code, § 1417.9, subd. (b)(3)(C).) 

This bill clarifies that all exhibits introduced or filed in any criminal action or proceeding shall be 
retained in the custody and control of the court under the conditions and for the timeframes set 
forth in the bill as specified. 

This bill states that the court in any county in which the court, the prosecution, and the defense 
have agreed to an alternative custodian for the retention, management, and preservation of 
exhibits, who is in possession of such exhibits as of January 1, 2018, or who thereafter enters 
into a written agreement for the retention and preservation of such exhibits in a manner suitable 
for potential review and testing in a postconviction, judicial, or extrajudicial process, is exempt 
from the requirement that the court retain custody of such exhibits. 

This bill clarifies that an alternative custodian is subject to all of the same requirements that 
would apply if the exhibits were in custody of the court and states that this bill’s provisions do 
not eliminate the need for court orders where required by law. 

This bill prohibits the court from ordering the destruction of an exhibit sooner than one year after 
the term of imprisonment ends in a case charging a specified violent felony, a specified sex 
offense, aggravated assault on a child, or any charge that results in a life sentence and requires 
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that these exhibits be destroyed or disposed of no sooner than 60 days after this time period 
expires. 

This bill provides that at any time before the expiration of the applicable timeframes, exhibits 
offered by the state or defendant shall be returned to the party offering them by order of the court 
when an exhibit poses a security or safety problem, as determined by the court and requires the 
clerk of the court to substitute a full and complete photographic or digital record of any exhibit 
or part of any exhibit returned as a security or safety problem. The party to whom the exhibit is 
being returned shall provide the photographic or digital record, according to the procedures 
specified. 

This bill specifies if the size of the exhibit presents a storage concern, and the parties agree that 
the evidentiary value of an exhibit can by its nature be preserved by a photographic or digital 
record, or is severable so that only a portion a portion need to be retained to preserve its 
evidentiary value, the court may order the clerk to retain the evidentiary portion of the exhibit 
and return the balance of the exhibit to the party that offered it. 

This bill authorizes a digital record may be made wherever the law already allows a photographic 
record. 

This bill states that the court may elect the method to receive and store any digital record of any 
exhibit or partial exhibit returned under the provisions of this bill, whether electronically, 
through electronic transfer onto network servers or cloud storage that meets specified 
requirements for the storing and recording of documents in electronic media, or physically on 
electronic media storage devices including, but not limited to, external hard drives, solid state 
drives, magnetic tapes, and USB storage devices. 

This bill prohibits a governmental entity from disposing of any object or material that contains or 
includes biological material in cases charging a specified violent felony, a specified sex offense, 
aggravated assault on a child, or any charge that results in a life sentence. 

This bill states the intent of the Legislature to ensure that exhibits are preserved by the court in 
cases that may be reviewed in a postconviction, judicial, or extrajudicial process, and that 
biological evidence is retained for potential testing and retesting. 

This bill makes other conforming changes. 

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author of this bill: 

[This bill] allows defendants, who may have been wrongfully convicted, to prove 
their innocence by prohibiting the courts from destroying certain court exhibits, 
including those that may contain biological material, by requiring specific court 
exhibits be retained exclusively by the courts and, in the most serious cases, 
retained for the length of incarceration so that the evidence will remain available 
for post-conviction testing. Technological advances in DNA have proven critical 
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in the exonerations of several wrongfully convicted defendants. Recently, there 
have been several instances where advanced DNA testing of biological material, 
post-conviction, have turned out to be the vital element needed to overturn a life 
sentence. AB 2988 will ensure that such exhibits will still be available for testing, 
years after a conviction, literally providing a lifeline to the innocent who remain 
incarcerated. 

2. Defendant’s Right to an Adequate Record in Postconviction Proceedings 

A defendant may appeal from a judgment of conviction suffered in the trial court. In non-capital 
felony cases, a defendant has 60 calendar days to file the notice of appeal. (Pen. Code, § 1237; 
Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.308.) In capital cases, the appeal is automatic. (Cal. Rules of Court, 
rule 8.600.) 

The California Rules of Court specify the items that must be included in the record on appeal. 
(Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.320, 8.610.) These items include exhibits admitted in evidence, 
refused or lodged in the trial court. (Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.320(e), 8.610(a)(3).) 

A defendant is entitled to an adequate record to permit meaningful review on appeal (People v. 
Howard (1992) 1 Cal.4th 1132, 1165 [impliedly considering state and federal law]; see also id. at 
p. 1166 [explicitly addressing Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment requirements].) The burden is 
on the defendant to show that the deficiencies in the record are prejudicial to him or her. (Id. at p. 
1165.) 

In some cases, missing portions of the record can be adequately reconstructed or a settled 
statement can be prepared which fills in missing portions of the record. For example, in People v. 
Osband (1996) 13 Cal.4th 622, lost trial exhibits did not require reversal of the judgment. There 
the parties were able to reconstruct and restore most of the record and to prepare a settled 
statement providing a satisfactory substitute for other portions. (Id at pp. 661-664 [reconstruction 
of 68 exhibits lost by the superior court clerk’s office; 62 could be reproduced from prosecution 
negatives, three were not admitted into evidence, and six more were properly the subject of a 
settled statement; resulting record was adequate to permit meaningful review]; see also People v. 
Coley (1997) 52 Cal.App.4th 964, 972-973 [appellate counsel did not seek reconstruction of lost 
exhibit consisting of the knife for which appellant was convicted of illegal possession; held that 
appellant could not complain of error related to the characteristics of the knife, because appellant 
had failed to perfect an appellate record by seeking reconstruction].) 

While reconstructing the record or preparing a settled statement of lost or destroyed exhibits may 
be a viable option in some cases, reversal will nonetheless be required if the defendant shows the 
missing exhibit is critical to an issue the defense intended to raise on appeal and that an adequate 
substitute of the exhibit cannot be obtained. (See People v. Galland (2008) 45 Cal.4th 354, 370.) 
Moreover, settling the record, even when possible, is a lengthy process. (See Marks v. Superior 
Court (2002) 27 Cal.4th 176, 192.) 

Besides direct appeal, defendants have a number of other postconviction remedies available to 
them. These remedies may include a state habeas petition. A habeas petition is directed at 
determining the lawfulness of prison confinement, conditions of confinement, or actual or 
potential restraints on personal liberty. Thus the person must be in actual or constructive custody. 
(Pen. Code, §§ 1473, subd. (a), 1474, subd. (2).) A parolee, for example, is restrained for 
purposes of a state habeas petition. (In re Strum (1974) 11 Cal.3d 258, 265.) A habeas petition 



            
 

              
             
             

                  
                 
              

             
 

                
                

          
       

    
 

                 
              

                   
                 

               
               
                     

                
                   

               
       

 
                 
                  
                  
 

 
            

 
                 

                
                 

                 
                

 
                  
              

              
               

             
          

 
                 

              
               

AB 2988 (Weber ) Page 6 of 7 

may be based on material false evidence, material false physical evidence, or material new 
evidence. (Pen. Code, § 1473.) False evidence includes expert opinions that have been 
repudiated or undermined by new scientific research or technological advances. (Pen. Code, § 
1473, subd. (e).) While there are no statutory or other specific time limits for filing a state habeas 
petition, a court may decline to consider the petition if it finds unreasonable delay. (See In re 
Sanders (1999) 21 Cal.4th 697, 703.) In capital cases, there are presumptions regarding the 
timeliness of a petition. (See In re Clark (1993) 5 Cal.4th 750, 784.) 

A defendant who has exhausted his or her state remedies, and whose case raises an important 
federal question, may file a petition for writ of certiorari in the United States Supreme Court. 
(U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 10.) However, few petitions are granted. 
(http://www.supremecourt.gov/casehand/casehand.aspx, Guide to Filing In Forma Pauperis 
Cases, at p. 1.) 

A defendant who has exhausted his or her state court remedies may also file a federal habeas 
corpus petition to challenge the constitutionality of his or her state-court criminal conviction and 
sentence. A federal petition for writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 is used by a (1) 
state prisoner (2) being held in state custody (3) to challenge the validity of a state criminal 
conviction or sentence (4) for the purpose of obtaining release from custody. Again, the custody 
may be physical or constructive, including for example, parole. (Goldyn v. Hayes (9th Cir. 2006) 
444 F.3d 1062, 1063, fn. 2.) There is a one year limitation on the filing of the petition. (28 USC § 
2244, subd. (d).) Though several things can trigger the running of this one-year period, the safest 
course of action for a defendant is usually to file the petition within one year of the date the 
California Supreme Court denies or dismisses review of the state court of appeal’s decision or 
the period for granting review expires. (Ibid.) 

The ruling on a federal habeas petition may be appealed to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeal. 
(28 USC § 2253.) A defendant may seek further review of a Ninth Circuit decision by filing a 
writ of certiorari in the United State Supreme Court. (See 28 USC § 1254; U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 
10.) 

3. Need to Revise Law on Retention of Exhibits and Biological Evidence 

Current law provides that exhibits shall be retained by the clerk who is to establish a procedure 
to account for the exhibits until the final determination of the action or proceedings, as defined. 
No procedure to account for the exhibits is specified. (Pen. Code, § 1417.) This bill requires that 
exhibits be retained in the custody and control of the court for the time periods specified. As 
such, this bill will help ensure that trial court exhibits are not inadvertently lost or destroyed. 

This bill also requires that, in the most serious cases, the court must retain exhibits for one year 
after incarceration ends, and that the appropriate government entity must retain any object or 
material that contains or includes biological material as long as the person remains incarcerated 
in connection with the case. This will help ensure that exhibits and biological evidence remain 
available for postconviction proceedings and testing. This, in turn, will help ensure that 
incarcerated defendants receive the benefit of advancements in forensic science. 

In less serious cases, this bill requires the governmental entity to obtain proof of service that an 
incarcerated defendant has been notified before disposing of any object or material that contains 
or includes biological material before the expiration of the specified time periods. This extra step 

http://www.supremecourt.gov/casehand/casehand.aspx
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will help ensure that defendants, whose custody locations change, receive this notice and have an 
opportunity to respond before the evidence is disposed of. 

4. Planned Amendments 

The author plans to amend the bill to define the term “digital record” and clarify the bill’s 
provisions related to the storage of these records. 

5. Argument in Support 

According to the San Diego County District Attorney, a co-sponsor of this bill: 

AB 2988 further mitigates the costs associated with long term storage of critical 
evidence in the smaller subset of serious cases by providing greater efficiencies in 
the storage of exhibits in all cases; likely resulting in net zero storage costs. 
Specifically, in cases where the evidentiary value of an exhibit may be retained by 
digital or photographic representations, the representations may be retained in lieu 
of the original. The method of digital transfer and storage is at the courts’ 
discretion, whether it be done through the courts’ networks or on external hard or 
thumb drives. The bill also allows for exhibits to be severed so that only the 
portion having an actual evidentiary value need to be retained. 

Our office knows firsthand that conviction review is heavily dependent on exhibit 
and evidence preservation. We have a Conviction Review Unit that relies on 
evidence preservation. Recently, we had a case where evidence found in our 
courthouse basement proved invaluable; it exonerated an innocent man. 
Fortunately, the court had retained the evidence despite current law, which would 
have allowed its earlier destruction. 

-- END – 


