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PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to modify California law as it relates to refusal to submit to a 
chemical test due to suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) to comply with the 
Supreme Court's ruling in Birchfield v. North Dakota, (2016) 136 S. Ct. 2160.  
 
Existing law states that if any person is convicted of a violation of driving under the influence 
(DUI), and at the time of the arrest leading to that conviction that person willfully refused a 
peace officer’s request to submit to, or willfully failed to complete, the chemical test or tests, the 
court shall impose the following penalties:  (Vehicle Code, § 23577 (a).)  
 

a) If the person is convicted of a first violation of a DUI as specified, the punishment 
proscribed for a first-offense DUI shall be imposed;   
 

b) If the person is convicted of a second violation of a DUI, the punishment shall be 
enhanced by an imprisonment of 96 hours in the county jail, whether or not probation is 
granted and no part of which may be stayed, unless the person is sentenced to, and 
incarcerated in, the state prison and execution of that sentence is not stayed; 
 

c) If the person is convicted of a third violation of a DUI, the punishment shall be enhanced 
by an imprisonment of 10 days in the county jail, whether or not probation is granted and 
no part of which may be stayed; and  
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d) If the person is convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI violation, the punishment shall 
be enhanced by imprisonment of 18 days in the county jail, whether or not probation is 
granted and no part of which may be stayed. 
 

Existing law provides that person who drives a motor vehicle is deemed to have given his or her 
consent to chemical testing of his or her blood or breath for the purpose of determining the 
alcoholic content of his or her blood, if lawfully arrested for an offense allegedly committed in 
violation of specified DUI offenses.  If a blood or breath test, or both, are unavailable, then a 
urine test is required as specified.  (Vehicle Code§ 23612 (a)(1)(A).)   
 
Existing law states that a person who drives a motor vehicle is deemed to have given his or her 
consent to chemical testing of his or her blood for the purpose of determining the drug content of 
his or her blood, if lawfully arrested for an offense allegedly committed in violation of Section 
specified DUI offenses. If a blood test is unavailable, the person shall be deemed to have given 
his or her consent to chemical testing of his or her urine and shall submit to a urine test.  (Vehicle 
Code, § 23612 (a)(1)(B).)   
 
Existing law provides that the testing shall be incidental to a lawful arrest and administered at the 
direction of a peace officer having reasonable cause to believe the person was driving a motor 
vehicle in violation of specified DUI offenses.  (Vehicle Code, § 23612 (a)(1)(C).)   
 
Existing law specifies that the person shall be told that his or her failure to submit to, or the 
failure to complete, the required chemical testing will result in a fine, mandatory imprisonment if 
the person is convicted of a DUI, and:     
 

a) The suspension of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of one 
year,  
 

b) The revocation of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two 
years if the refusal occurs within 10 years of a separate violation DUI offense; or  

 
c) The revocation of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a period of three 

years if the refusal occurs within 10 years of two or more separate DUI violations, as 
specified.  (Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(1)(D).)   
 

Existing law provides that if the person is lawfully arrested for driving under the influence of an 
alcoholic beverage, the person has the choice of whether the test shall be of his or her blood or 
breath and the officer shall advise the person that he or she has that choice. If the person arrested 
either is incapable, or states that he or she is incapable, of completing the chosen test, the person 
shall submit to the remaining test. If a blood or breath test, or both, are unavailable, the person 
shall submit to the remaining test in order to determine the percent, by weight, of alcohol in the 
person's blood. If both the blood and breath tests are unavailable, the person shall be deemed to 
have given his or her consent to chemical testing of his or her urine and shall submit to a urine 
test.  (Vehicle Code, § 23612 (a)(2)(A).)   
 
Existing law states that if the person is lawfully arrested for driving under the influence of any 
drug or the combined influence of an alcoholic beverage and any drug, the person has the choice 
of whether the test shall be of his or her blood or breath, and the officer shall advise the person 
that he or she has that choice.  (Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(2)(B).)   
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Existing law states that a person who chooses to submit to a breath test may also be requested to 
submit to a blood test if the officer has reasonable cause to believe that the person was driving 
under the influence of a drug or the combined influence of an alcoholic beverage and a drug and  
 
if the officer has a clear indication that a blood test will reveal evidence of the person being 
under the influence. The officer shall state in his or her report the facts upon which that belief 
and that clear indication are based. The officer shall advise the person that he or she is required 
to submit to an additional test. The person shall submit to and complete a blood test. If the person 
arrested is incapable of completing the blood test, the person shall submit to and complete a 
urine test.  (Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(2)(C).)   
 
Existing law provides that if the person is lawfully arrested for an offense allegedly committed in 
violation of a specified DUI offense, and, because of the need for medical treatment, the person 
is first transported to a medical facility where it is not feasible to administer a particular test of, 
or to obtain a particular sample of, the person's blood or breath, the person has the choice of 
those tests, including a urine test, that are available at the facility to which that person has been 
transported. In that case, the officer shall advise the person of those tests that are available at the 
medical facility and that the person's choice is limited to those tests that are available.  (Vehicle 
Code § 23612  (a)(3).)   
 
Existing law provides that an officer shall also advise the person that he or she does not have the 
right to have an attorney present before stating whether he or she will submit to a test or tests, 
before deciding which test or tests to take, or during administration of the test or tests chosen, 
and that, in the event of refusal to submit to a test or tests, the refusal may be used against him or 
her in a court of law.  (Vehicle Code § 23612 (a)(4).)   
 
Existing law states that a person who is unconscious or otherwise in a condition rendering him or 
her incapable of refusal is deemed not to have withdrawn his or her consent and a test or tests 
may be administered whether or not the person is told that his or her failure to submit to, or the 
noncompletion of, the test or tests will result in the suspension or revocation of his or her 
privilege to operate a motor vehicle. A person who is dead is deemed not to have withdrawn his 
or her consent and a test or tests may be administered at the direction of a peace officer.  
(Vehicle Code, § 23612  (a)(5).)   
 
Existing law specifies that a person who is afflicted with hemophilia is exempt from the blood 
test required by this section, but shall submit to, and complete, a urine test.  (Vehicle Code, § 
23612 (b).)   
 
Existing law provides that a person who is afflicted with a heart condition and is using an 
anticoagulant under the direction of a licensed physician and surgeon is exempt from the blood 
test required by this section, but shall submit to, and complete, a urine test.  (Vehicle Code, § 
23612 (c).)   
 
Existing law states that a person lawfully arrested for an offense allegedly committed while the 
person was driving a motor vehicle in violation of specified DUI offenses may request the 
arresting officer to have a chemical test made of the arrested person's blood or breath for the 
purpose of determining the alcoholic content of that person's blood, and, if so requested, the 
arresting officer shall have the test performed.  (Vehicle Code, § 23612(d)) 
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This bill repeals the implied consent to submit to chemical testing of his or her blood or breath 
and would instead require a driver who is lawfully arrested for a specified DUI offense to submit 
to chemical testing of his or her blood or breath for the purpose of determining the alcoholic or 
drug content of his or her blood:  
 
 

a) Requires a peace officer to advise the person, as specified, that he or she has the choice of 
taking a chemical test, but that failure to take a blood or urine test will result in 
suspension or revocation of his or her driving privilege, and refusal to take a breath test 
will result in the same penalty and a fine or mandatory imprisonment if the person is 
convicted of a specified DUI offense; and  
 

b) Requires a person exempted from the blood test requirement because of hemophilia or a 
heart condition, as specified, to submit to, and complete, a breath test or a urine test, as 
specified. 
 

This bill clarifies that it is a crime for a person to willfully refuse to complete a breath test after 
being lawfully arrested for a violation of specified driving under the influence offenses.   
 
This bill specifies that the crime for refusal to complete a breath test shall not apply to a person 
who has submitted to and completed a blood test.   
 
This bill removes a provision of law that requires a court to consider a person's refusal to take a 
chemical test as a special factor in determining whether to enhance a sentence, grant probation, 
or set enhanced probation terms when a person's blood is 0.15% or higher.   

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 

Recent rulings by the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) require 
California to update its Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws. 
 
Current law - Vehicle Code sections 23612, 23577, and 23578 - establishes an 
“implied consent,” which essentially means that a person who drives a motor 
vehicle is deemed to have given his consent to chemical testing of his blood or 
breath when lawfully arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs .   
 
Current law also provides for criminal sanctions for failure to comply with a lawful 
request to have a biological sample (breath or blood) tested for substances that 
could impair a person’s ability to safely operate a vehicle. 
 
However, these laws are not in compliance with the due process requirements set 
forth by the Supreme Court of the United States in Birchfield v. North Dakota 
(2016) 136 S.Ct. 2160 [195 L.Ed.2d 560]. 
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In Birchfield, and the two companion cases, the SCOTUS ruled that breath testing 
was not a violation of the Fourth Amendment as it was incident to an arrest, but 
obtaining a blood sample would require a warrant.  This means that “implied 
consent” does not exist in the case of the blood testing.  
 
Furthermore, according to one of the holdings in Birchfield, supra., a state cannot 
burden the invocation of the Fourth Amendment protection by a lawfully arrested 
driver by imposing criminal sanctions on said driver.  Such sanctions made the 
consent or waiver of that protection coerced.  However, the justices did approve the 
use of administrative remedies as a reasonable invocation of the State interest in 
regulating safety on the roads. 

 
2.  Fourth Amendment as Applied to DUI Chemical Tests 
 
The Fourth Amendment protects people from unreasonable searches by the government. A 
search occurs when the police intrude into a place where a person has a reasonable expectation of 
privacy, such as a person’s house or even a person’s body. For a search to be reasonable, police 
are usually required to meet the standard of “probable cause” (having a good reason to search). 
In most cases, an officer will get a search warrant by providing some information to a judicial 
official that a crime was committed at the place to be searched or that particular evidence of a 
crime exists at the location to be searched. This process can go quickly, especially when done 
over the phone or electronically. If the judicial official agrees that probable cause exists, he or 
she will issue the warrant.  
 
However, the following examples are instances when police can search without a warrant:  
 

• In a consent search. This is when the person gives permission for the search.  
 

• In a search incident to lawful arrest. This is when a person is lawfully arrested and police 
can search the person and the area within that person’s immediate control for the officers’ 
safety.   
 

• When evidence of a crime is in plain view because there is no expectation of privacy in 
this situation.   
 

• In an exigent circumstances search. This is when there is an emergency or pressing need 
and not enough time for a police officer to secure a search warrant.  
 

Taking a blood or breath test is referred to as a BAC test (blood alcohol content). A BAC test is 
considered a search. Having a driver take a breath or blood test is one of the most common ways 
to gather evidence in a DUI case (driving under the influence). In a breath test, which may occur 
on the road or at the police station, the driver breathes into a breathalyzer. The purpose is to 
detect the amount of alcohol in the driver’s body. A blood test that detects alcohol or drugs in the 
body is usually a more accurate method than the breath test. It is taken by a certified 
professional, usually at a hospital, who uses a syringe to take blood. 
 
All 50 states have “implied consent laws.” These laws say that drivers automatically give 
permission to police officers to test for BAC if an officer has reason to believe that a driver is 
under the influence. If drivers refuse, they can lose their license. However, 12 states, including  
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North Dakota, go further and make it a separate crime (arrest and potential jail time), apart from 
how the DUI turns out, for drivers to refuse to let officers test their BAC.1 
 
3. Birchfield v. North Dakota 
 
The 2013 case of Danny Birchfield involved a driver in a DUI case who refused to consent to a 
blood test when requested by an officer.  Mr. Birchfield had submitted to a breath test prior to the 
request, which showed that he was intoxicated.  Mr. Birchfield was charged with breaking the 
implied consent law of North Dakota.   
 
At trial, Mr. Birchfield argued that his Fourth Amendment rights were violated by criminalizing 
his refusal to be searched when he failed to consent to the blood test.  The trial court, and 
subsequently the Supreme Court of North Dakota ruled that Mr. Birchfield's constitutional rights 
were not violated when the state of North Dakota criminalized the refusal to take a blood test.  
The basis of this determination was that the officers only administered the test when they 
established probable cause to believe that the driver was impaired.  Thus, the state courts deemed 
the search reasonable.   
 
The United States Supreme Court reviewed the decision of the South Dakota Supreme Court 
because it was based on an interpretation of federal constitutional law.  The Supreme Court 
asked, whether a state can criminalize a refusal to take a blood test, absent a warrant, through an 
implied consent law.  Birchfield v. North Dakota, (2016) 136 S. Ct. 2160, at 2173.  The court 
ruled that the Fourth Amendment permits warrantless breath tests for drunk driving, but does not 
permit warrantless blood tests.  The court determined that breath tests are barely a physical 
intrusion, as opposed to the blood test which can even leave DNA samples with the government.   
 
4.  Refusal 

Under California’s implied consent laws, a person convicted of a DUI can have additional 
penalties for refusing a peace officer’s request to submit to, or willfully complete a specified 
chemical test.  These additional sanctions raise constitutional questions following the Birchfield 
case. 

This bill instead imposes the administrative sanction of a license suspension or revocation if a 
person refuses a blood or urine test.  It changes the implied consent to chemical testing and   
provides that when lawfully arrested for a DUI the officer shall inform the person that he or she 
has a choice to refuse the test but the refusal will then result in the administrative sanction.  It 
would require a peace officer to inform a person lawfully arrested for a DUI that he or she may 
refuse to submit to the blood or urine test but if he or she does not submit to the test he or she 
will be subject to license suspension or revocation and if he or she fails to submit to the breath 
test then he or she will also be subject to potential jail time and fines in addition to the 
administrative sanctions. 

 

 

                                            
1 According to Street Law, Inc.  2016.   
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5.  Argument in Support 

 According to the California District Attorneys Association: 
 

This bill would conform California’s ‘implied consent’ DUI law to the due process 
requirements set forth by the Supreme Court of the United States in Birchfield v. 
North Dakota (2016) 136 S.Ct. 2160 [195 L.Ed.2d 560]. 
 
As you know, existing law provides for criminal sanctions for failure to comply with 
a lawful request to have a biological sample (breath or blood) tested for substances 
that could impair a person’s ability to safely operate a vehicle.  In Birchfield, and the 
two companion cases, the SCOTUS ruled that breath testing was not a violation of 
the Fourth Amendment as it was incident to an arrest, but obtaining a blood sample 
would require a warrant.  SCOTUS also held that the usual exceptions to the warrant 
requirement would also apply. 
 
The reason we need to change California law is that one of the holdings in 
Birchfield, supra., was that a state could not burden the invocation of the Fourth 
Amendment protection by imposing criminal sanctions.  Such sanctions made the 
consent or waiver of that protection coerced.  However, the justices did approve the 
use of administrative remedies as a reasonable invocation of the State interest in 
regulating safety on the roads. 
 
California’s statutory scheme for the so-called 'implied consent' law is contained in 
three sections – Vehicle Code sections 23612, 23577, and 23578.  AB 702 will bring 
this statutory scheme into compliance with Birchfield, supra., by removing the 
criminal sanctions on a suspected DUI driver for refusing a blood test. 
 

6.  Argument in Opposition 

California Attorneys for Criminal Justice opposes this bill stating: 

CACJ believes that the Birchfield decision must be viewed in context of other 
relevant laws and court decisions.  As you know, the Supreme Court of the United 
States issued a groundbreaking decision in McNeeley.  Most relevant, the McNeeley 
court declared that in most circumstances a blood draw cannot be undertaken 
absent a lawfully issued warrant.   In addition, many states, including North Dakota 
which is the home state of Birchfield, limits forcible blood draws. The Birchfield 
court made its decision with the understanding that forcible blood draws were 
illegal under North Dakota law unless the driving incident involved serious injury 
or death.  It appears that the existence of this law was a factor in the court's 
rationale.  Therefore, taking these legal authorities into consideration, CACJ asks 
for the following amendments: 
 
1)  Adopt a code section prohibiting a forcible blood draw unless the alleged 

offense involves a serious injury or death.  Here is what the Birchfield court 
noted:  

 
Thus, it is possible to extract a blood sample from a subject who forcibly 
resists, but many States reasonably prefer not to take this step. See, e.g., 
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Neville, 459 U. S., at 559–560. North Dakota, for example, tells us that it 
generally opposes this practice because of the risk of dangerous 
altercations between police officers and arrestees in rural areas where the 
arresting officer may not have backup. (Brief for Respondent in No. 14–
1468, p. 29.) Under current North Dakota law, only in cases involving an 
accident that results in death or serious injury may blood be taken from 
arrestees who resist. Compare N. D. Cent. Code Ann. §§39–20–04(1), 39–
20–01, with §39–20–01.1. 

  
The court in Birchfield arrived at its decision knowing that the North Dakota law, 
and many other states, have adopted limits on the use of force.  Thus, their decision 
to permit blood draws upon arrest and without a warrant was made with the 
understanding that law enforcement officers would not effect a "forced" blood draw 
unless the arrest involves a DUI with serious injury or death.  However, California 
does not currently have such a law.  Would Birchfield court have made the decision 
if North Dakota lacked such a limit on forced blood draws?  Without creating such 
a limit, AB 702 could inadvertently be interpreted to provide unfettered authority to 
law enforcement to use physical force to stick a needle into someone’s vein. CACJ 
asks that this bill be amended to include some limitation on the use of force, to 
avoid unnecessary confrontations with police officers.   
 
Keep in mind, the McNeeley court endorsed a warrant requirement for blood draws.  
AB 702 circumvents this warrant requirement by reliance on California's existing 
"implied consent" law.  However, the dangers of a forced blood draw are real.  
Even if someone "consented" by paying for a driver’s license, at the scene of an 
arrest, someone's fear of needles or blood draws by police could lead to physical 
confrontations, especially if the individual does not consent on site to the blood 
draw.  
  
Unclear and Misleading Advisements 
 
AB 702 delineates an advisement to be proffered upon the arrest of a California 
driver.  However, the language is confusing, contradictory and will likely lead to 
inadvertent chemical test refusals, as well as, improper waiver of consent.   At 
minimum, this advisement needs to be reworked.  Duress, panic, and fear are 
common responses in this situation.  As such an advisement must be clear, concise 
and in plain language consistent with current law.  Below is one alternative: 
  

“You are entitled to a number of constitutional protections. This includes 
the right to be free from a forced blood test without a warrant.  However, 
since you are under arrest, you are required to take a breath test to 
determine your blood alcohol level. If you refuse to take this test, or 
intentionally fail to provide a proper breath sample, you can be taken 
against your will to a local hospital or clinic and we will draw blood from 
you. If you refuse to take either a breath or blood test, your driving 
privileges will be suspended.”   
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Should blood draws be allowed pursuant to an “implied consent” law? 
 
As we previously indicated, it is generally accepted that a blood draw is a more 
invasive tactic than a DUI breath test.  In California, we have seen a dramatic 
advancement in the technology of breath test devises. Although they are not 
without error, the proper use of these devices lead to countless DUI convictions.  
California has approved mobile EPAS devices that can be used at the scene of an 
arrest, and whose results are admissible in court.  
  
In light of these developments, and the invasiveness of blood draws, is it time for 
California to reconsider the inclusion of blood draws in the implied consent law? 
What is the added value?  CACJ is also concerned that local law enforcement could 
choose to decrease their reliance on breath tests, making blood draws the only 
option.  Nothing in AB 702 prevents this shift.  CACJ believes it is time to review 
whether blood tests should be reserved only for DUI cases involving death or 
injury.   

 

-- END – 

 


