
SENATE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY 
Senator Nancy Skinner, Chair 

2019 - 2020  Regular  

Bill No: SB 120   Hearing Date:    April 23, 2019     
Author: Stern 
Version: April 8, 2019     
Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes 
Consultant: GC 

Subject:  Firearms:  Prohibited Persons 

HISTORY 

Source: Los Angeles City Attorney  

Prior Legislation: 347 (Jackson), 2015, vetoed 

Support: Bay Area Student Activists  

Opposition: American Civil Liberties Union of California; California Public Defenders 
Association  

   
PURPOSE 

The purpose of this legislation is to prohibit a person who is convicted of a misdemeanor 
violation of carrying a concealed firearm, carrying a loaded firearm, or openly carrying an 
unloaded handgun, from possessing a firearm for a period of 10 years. The bill would make 
the violation of that prohibition punishable as either a misdemeanor or as a state prison 
felony. 

Existing law provides that certain people are prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm for 
life, including:  (Penal Code §§ 29800, 23515 and 29805.)   
 

1) Anyone convicted of a felony; 
 
2) Anyone addicted to a narcotic drug; 
 
3) Any juvenile convicted of a violent crime with a gun and tried in adult court; 
 
4) Any person convicted of a federal crime that would be a felony in California and 

sentenced to more than 30 days in prison, or a fine of more than $1,000; and, 
                         

5) Anyone convicted of certain violent misdemeanors, e.g., assault with a firearm; inflicting 
corporal injury on a spouse or significant other, or brandishing a firearm in the presence 
of a police officer.   
 

Existing law provides that a violation of a lifetime ban on possession of a firearm is a felony.  
(Penal Code §§ 29800, 23515 and 29805.)   
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Existing law provides that anyone convicted of numerous misdemeanors involving violence or 
threats of violence are subject to a ten-year ban on possession of a firearm.  Provides that a 
violation of these provisions is an alternate felony/misdemeanor.  (Penal Code § 29805.)   
 
Existing law provides that any person taken into custody, assessed, and admitted to a designated 
facility due to that person being found to be a danger to themselves or others as a result of a 
mental disorder, is prohibited from possessing a firearm during treatment and for five years from 
the date of their discharge.  Provides that a violation of these provisions is an alternate 
felony/misdemeanor.  (Welfare and Institutions Code §§ 8100 and 8103(f).) 
 
Existing law provides that persons who are bound by a temporary restraining order or injunction 
or a protective order issued under the Family Code or the Welfare and Institutions Code, may be 
prohibited from firearms ownership for the duration of that court order.  Provides that the 
violation of these provisions is a wobbler or a misdemeanor, as specified.  (Penal Code § 29825.) 

 
Existing law requires that firearms dealers obtain certain identifying information from firearms 
purchasers and forward that information, via electronic transfer to Department of Justice (DOJ) 
to perform a background check on the purchaser to determine whether he or she is prohibited 
from possessing a firearm.  (Penal Code § 28160-28220.) 
 
Existing law requires that, upon receipt of the purchaser’s information, DOJ shall examine its 
records, as well as those records that it is authorized to request from the State Department of 
Mental Health pursuant to Section 8104 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, in order to 
determine if the purchaser is prohibited from purchasing a firearm.  (Penal Code § 28220.) 
 
Existing law requires firearms to be centrally registered at time of transfer or sale by way of 
transfer forms centrally compiled by the DOJ.  DOJ is required to keep a registry from data sent 
to DOJ indicating who owns what firearm by make, model, and serial number and the date 
thereof.  (Penal Code § 11106(a) and (c).) 
 
Existing law requires the Attorney General to establish and maintain an online database to be 
known as Armed Prohibited Persons System (APPS).  The purpose of the file is to cross-
reference persons who have ownership or possession of a firearm on or after January 1, 1991, as 
indicated by a record in the Consolidated Firearms Information System (CFIS), and who, 
subsequent to the date of that ownership or possession of a firearm, fall within a class of persons 
who are prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm.  The information contained in APPS 
shall only be available to specified entities through the California Law Enforcement 
Telecommunications System, for the purpose of determining if persons are armed and prohibited 
from possessing firearms.  (Penal Code § 30000.) 
 
Existing federal law provides, that certain people are prohibited from owning or possessing a 
firearm:  (18 USC § 922(g).)  Any person who: 
 

1) Has been convicted in any court of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term 
exceeding one year;  

2) Is a fugitive from justice; 
3) Is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance, as defined;  
4) Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been committed to a mental 

institution; 
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5) Being an alien is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or except as specified, has 
been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa, as defined;   

6) Has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; 
7) Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his citizenship; or 
8) Is subject to a specified court order. 

 
This bill would prohibit a person who is convicted on or after January 1, 2020, of a misdemeanor 
violation of carrying a concealed firearm, carrying a loaded firearm, or openly carrying an 
unloaded handgun, from possessing a firearm for a period of 10 years.  
 
This bill would make the violation of that prohibition punishable as either a misdemeanor or as a 
state prison felony.  

COMMENTS 

1.   Need for This Bill  

According to the author:   

Pursuant to existing California law, an adult convicted of an enumerated 
misdemeanor, as listed in Penal Code Section 29805, is prohibited from firearm 
possession for a period of 10 years.   
 
This bill would include on the list of enumerated charges misdemeanor 
convictions for carrying a concealed firearm (Penal Code Section 25400), 
carrying a loaded firearm in public (Penal Code Section 25850), and openly 
carrying an unloaded handgun in public (Penal Code Section 26350).     
 
Under current law, persons convicted of these gun-related crimes only become 
prohibited from firearm possession if they are placed on probation and have an 
express condition of probation prohibiting firearm ownership or possession (Penal 
Code Section 29815).  Such a prohibition lasts for the length of probation, which 
is typically two to three years.  When probation is terminated, weapons 
restrictions are lifted.     
 
Given that the purpose of California’s prohibited person firearms statute is to 
prevent people from possessing guns whose crimes demonstrate a propensity to 
commit violence, the inability to act responsibly with firearms, or both, the 
prohibition created by PC 29815 should be expanded to include the crimes set 
forth in this bill. 
 
For example, a defendant can reject probation.  Therefore, it is entirely feasible 
that just days after being convicted of possessing a loaded, concealed or openly 
carried firearm, the convicted person could purchase a new gun or even request to 
have law enforcement return their crime gun.   
 
Even if probation were imposed, the term during which the misdemeanant would 
be prohibited from firearms possession would be substantially less than would 
apply to the misdemeanors currently enumerated in California’s prohibited 
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persons statute—despite the fact that the underlying crimes this bill would cover 
flout very significant gun violence prevention laws and demonstrate the 
misdemeanant has not acted responsibly with firearms. 
 
SB 120 (Stern) would add to the prohibited persons list people convicted of 
misdemeanor cases involving having an unloaded handgun in public, loaded or 
concealed firearm. 
 

2.  Firearms Prohibitions for Specified Misdemeanor Offenses 
 
As detailed above, current state and federal laws prohibit persons who have been convicted of 
specific crimes from owning or possessing firearms.  For example, anyone convicted of any 
felony offense is prohibited for life from firearms ownership under both federal and state law.  
(18 U.S.C. § 922(g); Penal Code § 29800.)  California goes further and imposes a 10-year 
firearms prohibition on persons convicted of numerous misdemeanor offenses that involve either 
violence or the threat of violence.  (Penal Code § 29805.)  Additionally, anyone who has been 
found to be a danger to themselves or others due to mental illness is subject to a five-year 
prohibition (Welfare and Institutions Code §§ 8100, 8103(f)), and people under domestic 
violence restraining orders are subject to a prohibition for the duration of that court order.  (Penal 
Code § 29825.)   
 
This bill would expand the existing firearms prohibitions by creating a class of misdemeanor 
offenses related to firearms.  Specifically misdemeanor convictions of carrying a concealed 
firearm, carrying a loaded firearm, and openly carrying a firearm.   
 
3.  Armed and Prohibited Persons System (APPS) Mandates on DOJ, Existing and 

Growing Backlog, and Budget Shortfalls:  
 
The APPS is a database that checks gun sales against records of criminal convictions, mental 
health holds and domestic violence restraining orders to flag prohibited owners.  DOJ cross-
references APPS with five other databases including the California Restraining and Protective 
Order System (CARPOS), a statewide database of individuals subject to a restraining order.  
New individuals are added to the APPS database on an ongoing basis as the system identifies and 
matches individuals in California who are prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms. 
DOJ is required to complete an initial review of a match in the daily queue of APPS within seven 
days of the match being placed in the queue.  (Pen. Code, § 30020.)  
 
The DOJ has long been working to seize the guns and ammunition of persons on the APPS list. 
The San Francisco Chronicle recently reported that the Department has reduced the backlog of 
prohibited persons from over 20,000 in 2013 to less than 9,000 today.1 However, the list is 
always growing as new individuals are added to APPS for committing qualifying crimes.  Thus, 
the burden on the DOJ to clear the list is evergreen.  In addition, the Legislature and voter 
initiatives have added new categories of individuals who are prohibited from possessing 
firearms.  For example, as of July 1, 2019, the Background Checks for Ammunition Purchases 
and Large-Capacity Ammunition Magazine Ban Initiative (Proposition 63 of 2016) requires that 
DOJ confirm whether an individual seeking to purchase ammunition is authorized to do so, and 

                                            
1See APPS 2018 Annual Report to the Legislature, published Mar. 1, 2019; see also Alexei Koseff, California 
struggles to seize guns from people who shouldn’t have them, San Francisco Chronicle, Feb. 18, 2019, available at 
https://www.sfchronicle.com/politics/article/California-struggles-to-seize-guns-from-people-13624039.php. 
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in the process, DOJ will likely identify additional cases requiring APPS investigations.  
 
Budget shortfalls make clearing the APPS list difficult, as DOJ has limited resources to 
investigate and seize firearms from persons on the list.  Since the early 2000s, DOJ has requested 
additional funding to decrease the backlog.  The APPS has largely been funded by fees collected 
when an individual purchases a firearm, which is deposited in the Dealer’s Record of Sale 
(DROS) Special Account.  However, the DROS Special Account has experienced operational 
shortfalls since 2012-13.  In 2013, the Legislature appropriated $24 million with SB 140 (Leno), 
Chapter 2, Statutes of 2013, to aid the DOJ in reducing the backlog to its current levels, but the 
DOJ has been unable to eliminate it entirely. 
 
DOJ has anticipated that the list will continue to grow as the Legislature adds new categories of 
persons to the list, and is awaiting the implementation of other mandates. The DOJ has requested 
$16.9 million be allocated from the state budget on an ongoing basis to support the existing 
APPS workload and continue addressing the backlog of cases.  The Governor’s budget proposal 
for 2018-19 flagged this funding as a major program change for the DOJ: “The Budget includes a 
total of $16.9 million General Fund for APPS—$11.3 million to shift  the existing APPS program 
from the Dealers’ Record of Sale Account to the General Fund and $5.6 million General Fund to 
support increased APPS workload. Shifting these costs to the General Fund provides a more 
stable fund source for APPS and allows the Dealers’ Record of Sale Account to maintain 
solvency to continue additional Bureau of Firearms workload.”2  
 
4.  The Provisions of This Bill Would Increase the APPS List  
 
This bill would add additional individuals to APPS, increasing the DOJ’s workload by requiring 
additional initial reviews of new matches and, ultimately, requiring additional investigations and 
operations to seize firearms and ammunition.  While the DOJ currently faces operational 
shortfalls to address the exiting backlog, it appears that 2018-19 budget will better fund DOJ’s 
APPS operations, allowing DOJ to hire additional individuals to work at eliminating the existing 
and growing backlog.    
 
5.  This Bill Carries State Prison Penalties  
 
On February 10, 2014, the federal court ordered California to reduce its in-state adult institution 
population to 137.5% of design capacity by February 28, 2016, as follows:    

 143% of design bed capacity by June 30, 2014; 
 141.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2015; and, 
 137.5% of design bed capacity by February 28, 2016.  

The court also ordered California to implement the following population reduction measures in 
its prisons: 

                                            
2The Legislative Analysis Office (LAO) has recommended an alternative to the Governor’s proposal to help the 
DROS Special Account avoid insolvency. LAO recommends providing $16.9 million from the General Fund to 
support existing and increased APPS workload, and approving 26 new positions requested to continue addressing 
the backlog. LAO notes that this funding will provide DOJ with the level of funding necessary for which there is 
“workload justification.” (The 2019-20 Budget: Analysis of Governor’s Criminal Justice Proposals, Legislative 
Analysists Office, Feb. 2019, available at https://lao.ca.gov/Publications/Report/3940.)   
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 Increase prospective credit earnings for non-violent second-strike inmates as well as 
minimum custody inmates.  

 Allow non-violent second-strike inmates who have reached 50 percent of their total 
sentence to be referred to the Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) for parole consideration.  

 Release inmates who have been granted parole by BPH but have future parole dates.  
 Expand the CDCR’s medical parole program.  
 Allow inmates age 60 and over who have served at least 25 years of incarceration to be 

considered for parole.  
 Increase its use of reentry services and alternative custody programs. 

(Opinion Re: Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of 
December 31, 2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. 
Brown, Plata v. Brown (2-10-14).)  Following the implementation of these measures along with 
the passage of Proposition 47, approved by California voters in November 2014, California met 
the federal court’s population cap in December 2015.  (Defendants’ December 2015 Status 
Report in Response to February 10, 2014 Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, 
Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown.)  The administration’s most recent status report states that as 
“of December 14, 2016, 114,031 inmates were housed in the State’s 34 adult institutions” which 
amounts to approximately 135.3% of design capacity, and 4,704 inmates were housed in out-of-
state facilities.  (Defendants’ December 2016 Status Report in Response to February 10, 2014 
Order, 2:90-cv-00520 KJM DAD PC, 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. Brown (fn. 
omitted).)   

While significant gains have been made in reducing the prison population, the state must 
stabilize these advances and demonstrate to the federal court that California has in place the 
“durable solution” to prison overcrowding “consistently demanded” by the court.  (Opinion Re: 
Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Defendants’ Request For Extension of December 31, 
2013 Deadline, NO. 2:90-cv-0520 LKK DAD (PC), 3-Judge Court, Coleman v. Brown, Plata v. 
Brown (2-10-14).   

This bill adds three misdemeanors to the list of crimes that, if convicted, would prohibit an 
offender from possessing a firearm for 10-years.  Any violation of this prohibition would be 
punishable by up to 16-months, two, or three-years in state prison.   

Although the state is currently in compliance with the court-ordered population cap, creating new 
enhancements, or expanding upon existing ones, will increase the length of time that an inmate 
must serve in prison and reverse the progress made in reducing the state prison population.  This 
is contrary to the court's order for a durable solution to prison overcrowding. 

6.  Veto Message for 347 (Jackson), 2015 
 
SB 347 (Jackson) from 2015 would have added to the list of prohibited misdemeanors: 
 

1) Petty theft of a firearm;   
2) Carrying ammunition onto school grounds; and  
3) Receiving stolen property consisting of a firearm.  
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Governor Brown vetoed the bill with the following message:   

[This bill] creates a new crime - usually by finding a novel way to characterize 
and criminalize conduct that is already proscribed.  This multiplication and 
particularization of criminal behavior creates increasing complexity without 
commensurate benefit.  
 
Over the last several decades, California's criminal code has grown to more than 
5,000 separate provisions, covering almost every conceivable form of human 
misbehavior.  During the same period, our jail and prison populations have 
exploded.  
 
Before we keep going down this road, I think we should pause and reflect on how 
our system of criminal justice could be made more human, more just and more 
cost-effective. 

7.  Argument in Support  

According to the Los Angeles City Attorney:   
 

Under current law, persons convicted of these gun-related crimes only become 
prohibited from firearm possession if they are placed on probation and have an 
express condiction of probation prohibiting firearm ownership or possession 
(Penal Code Section 29815).  Such a prohibition lasts for the length of probation, 
which is typically two to three years.  When probation is terminated, weapons 
restrictions are lifted.   
 
Given that the purpose of California’s prohibited person firearm statute is to 
prevent people from possessing guns whose crimes demonstrate a propensity to 
commit violence, the inability to act responsibly with firearms, or both, the 
prohibition created by PC 29805 should be expanded to include the crimes set 
forth in this bill.   

 
8.  Argument in Opposition  

According to the ACLU of California:  

The American Civil Liberties Union of California regrets that we must 
respectfully oppose your SB 120, which would subject people convicted of 
specified nonviolent misdemeanors to incarceration in state prison if they come 
into possession of a firearm within ten years of their conviction, unless the bill is 
amended so that the penalty for violating the prohibition is limited to a 
misdemeanor.  
 
Preventing gun violence is of the utmost importance, and the ACLU of California 
does not oppose reasonable measures that regulate the acquisition, use, or 
possession of guns, so long as those regulations contribute to public safety and 
welfare, and do not encroach unnecessarily on civil liberties.  Unfortunately, SB 
120 would do more harm than good, exposing a specific category of people – 
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those with certain nonviolent gun-related misdemeanor convictions – to time in 
state prison for possessing a gun. 
 
The criminal justice consequences of this bill will not only worsen our state’s 
over-incarceration problem, but will also have a disproportionate impact on 
communities of color.  Racial disparities pervade the criminal justice system, and 
crimes related to firearms are no different.  In 2017 in California, nearly one-
fourth of all people arrested for felony weapons offenses were Black and nearly 
half were Latino,3 even though Black people make up only 6.5 percent of the state 
population and Latinos only 39 percent.4  
 
There is no evidence that this bill would improve public safety or welfare, but, as 
written, would impose unnecessarily harsh penalties on people who have never 
been convicted of a felony or any violence.  For these reasons, the ACLU of 
California respectfully opposes this bill, unless it is amended to no longer 
authorize a felony conviction with state prison time as a consequence for violating 
this prohibition. 

 

-- END – 

 

                                            
3 California Department of Justice, Crime in California (2017). 
4 United States Census Bureau, Quick Facts California (2010). 


