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Support: Associated Builders and Contractors – Central California Chapter; Bakersfield 

Association of Realtors; California Cattlemen’s Association; California Chamber 
of Commerce; California Farm Bureau Federation; California Peace Officers’ 
Association; California State Sheriffs’ Association; Fresno Chamber of 
Commerce; Fresno County Farm Bureau; Greater Bakersfield Chamber of 
Commerce; Homebuilders Association of Kern County; Kern County Farm 
Bureau; Kern County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Kern Homebuilders 
Association; Kern Taxpayers Association; Santa Barbara County District 
Attorney’s Office; Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Office; Tulare Chamber of 
Commerce; Tulare County District Attorney’s Office; Tulare County Farm 
Bureau; Western United Dairymen 

Opposition: American Civil Liberties Union of California; California Public Defenders 
Association 

   
PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to specify that theft of certain agricultural equipment whose value 
exceeds $950 is grand theft, and to require the proceeds of the fine imposed following a 
conviction of the new provision to be allocated to the Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention 
Program or the Central Coast Rural Crime Prevention Program. 
 
Existing law divides theft into two degrees: petty theft and grand theft. (Pen. Code, § 486.) 

Existing law states that grand theft is committed when the money, labor, or real or personal 
property taken is of a value exceeding $950, except in specified cases of theft authorizing a 
lower threshold. (Pen. Code, § 487.) 
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Existing law generally punishes grand theft as an alternate felony-misdemeanor. (Pen. Code, § 
489, subd. (c).)  

Existing law includes separate grand theft statutes for theft of specific items where the value of 
the items taken exceeds $950. (See Pen. Code, §§ 487e, 487h, and 487j.) 

Existing law provides that when a fine is not prescribed in statute, the court may impose a fine 
not exceeding $1,000 for a misdemeanor or up to $10,000 for a felony in addition to the 
imprisonment prescribed. (Pen. Code, § 672.) 

Existing law authorizes the Counties of Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, 
Stanislaus, and Tulare to develop a Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention Program. (Pen. Code, 
§ 14171.) 

Existing law encourages the Counties of Monterey, San Benito, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, and 
San Luis Obispo to develop, adopt, and implement a Central Coast Rural Crime Prevention 
Program, modeled after the Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention Program. (Pen. Code, § 
14180.) 

This bill creates a separate grand theft statute for the theft of tractors, all-terrain vehicles, 
or other agricultural equipment, or any portion thereof, used in the acquisition or 
production of food for public consumption where the property exceeds $950. 

This bill provides that if the value of the property taken exceeds $50,000, a violation of the new 
section is punishable as an alternate felony-misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year 
imprisonment in county jail, or 16 months, or 2 or 3 years in county jail, and by a fine not 
exceeding $10,000. 

This bill states that in a county participating in a rural crime prevention program, the proceeds of 
the fine imposed pursuant to the new section shall be allocated by the Controller, upon 
appropriation by the Legislature, to the Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention Program or to the 
Central Coast Rural Crime Prevention Program, respectively. 

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author of this bill: 

According to the Tulare County District Attorney’s office, there have been 36 
cases of agriculture vehicle theft since 2016. Currently, law enforcement agencies 
cannot simply separate the aggregate data to easily identify agricultural theft in 
their analysis of local crime. 

The Tulare County Sheriff’s Department has identified there are nearly $1 million 
in losses of agricultural equipment in 2018. For farmers, losing a $100,000 tractor 
can be devastating. These losses require time and money to replace, fix and/or 
recover the equipment and can result in a complete loss of crops. For smaller 
operations, this can be career ending.   
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Theft of agriculture equipment not only affects the ability of farmers and 
agriculture business owners to make a living, it also paralyzes their production of 
commercial goods in the form of food, textile materials and water. 

2. Theft of Agricultural Equipment 

The National Equipment Register, through a joint alliance with the National Insurance Crime 
Bureau, issues an annual report on equipment theft in the United States. Data for its report are 
collected through the National Equipment Register’s database which is used by owners and law 
enforcement agencies to report thefts and information reported to a separate database that 
insurers use to report thefts. 

According to the most recent National Equipment Register’s report, Texas experienced the most 
equipment thefts (2,375). California was fourth on the list of top ten states to experience 
equipment thefts (694). Mowers and tractors were the most frequently stolen with summer 
months experiencing higher frequencies of theft than other seasons. The report estimated that 
only about 21% of stolen equipment was recovered. California had the second highest rate of 
equipment recovery (340), just after Texas (372). Most equipment was recovered in the same 
state where they were stolen. The average value of each stolen equipment was $29,258. (For 
more information see < http://www.ner.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Annual-Theft-Report-
2016.pdf > [as of Mar. 8, 2019].) 

Under existing law, theft of any item that is valued over $950 is considered grand theft. (Pen. 
Code, § 487). This bill would create a specific statute providing that theft of certain agricultural 
equipment where the value of the equipment exceeds $950 is grand theft.  

3. Criminal Fines and Penalty Assessments 

This bill specifies a fine of up to $10,000 upon a conviction of the new section if the value of the 
equipment taken exceeds $50,000. The default criminal fine on a felony is up to $10,000 unless 
otherwise specified. The default criminal fine on a misdemeanor conviction is up to $1,000.  

This bill applies up to $10,000 fine on both misdemeanor and felony convictions of the new 
provision. While a maximum $10,000 fine is the default fine for felonies, it substantially higher 
than the maximum default fine for misdemeanors. 

When a fine is imposed in a criminal case, that base amount is increased by over 300% because 
of penalty assessments required for each criminal fine. Assuming a defendant was fined $10,000 
as the maximum fine, the following penalty assessments would be imposed pursuant to the Penal 
Code and the Government Code which would significantly increase the total fine: 

 
Base Fine:                                                                                                                   $ 10,000 
 
State Penalty Assessment: $10 for every $10  $10,000 

County Penalty Assessment: $7 for every $10  $7,000   

Court Construction Penalty Assessment: $5 for every $10  $5,000   
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Proposition 69 DNA Penalty Assessment: $1 for every $10  $1000 

DNA Identification Fund Penalty 
Assessment: 

$4 for every $10  $4000 

EMS Penalty Assessment: $2 for every $10  $2000 

EMAT Penalty Assessment: $4 per conviction $4 

State Surcharge: 20% of base fine $2,000   

Court Operations Assessment: $40 per conviction $40 

Conviction Assessment Fee: $30 per felony or misdemeanor 
conviction 

$30 

Night Court Fee: $1 per fine and fee imposed $1 

   

Total Fine with Assessments:                                                                           $41,075 

4. Restitution 

In addition to the fine and penalty assessments, a defendant is also required to pay a restitution 
fine and restitution to the victim for economic losses. (Pen. Code, § 1202.4, subd. (a)(3).)  

The amount of the restitution fine is set at the discretion of the court and has a wide statutory 
range (for a felony minimum of $300 and a maximum of $10,000; for a misdemeanor minimum 
of $150 and a maximum of $1,000). (Pen. Code, § 1202.4, subd. (b)(1).) The court is required to 
impose a restitution fine unless it finds compelling and extraordinary reasons for not doing so 
and states those reasons on the record. (Pen. Code, 1202.4, subd. (c).) A defendant’s inability to 
pay is not a compelling and extraordinary reason not to impose the restitution fine. (Ibid.)  

Restitution is money paid directly from the defendant to the victim of a crime who incurs an 
economic loss as a result of the commission of a crime. In theft cases, restitution would at 
minimum include “[f]ull or partial payment for the value of stolen or damaged property. The 
value of stolen or damaged property shall be the replacement cost of like property, or the actual 
cost of repairing the property when repair is possible.” (Pen. Code, 1202.4, subd. (f)(3)(A).) 
Other costs that may be included in the restitution order is such as loss of profit or income. 
Restitution to victims take priority over any payments made by and any money collected from 
the defendant, including state surcharges and fines imposed pursuant to a conviction. (Pen. Code, 
§ 1203.1d.) The restitution order is enforceable by the victim as a civil judgment (Pen. Code, §§ 
1202.4, subd. (i), 1214, subd. (b)) and are not dischargeable in bankruptcy court if the offender 
files for bankruptcy (People v Moser (1996) 50 Ca.App.4th 130, 136.) 

5. Rural Crime Prevention Programs  

AB 2768 (Poochigian), Chapter 327, Statutes of 1996 authorized the County of Tulare to begin a 
three-year pilot project known as the "Rural Crime Demonstration  Project". In 1997, the project 
was expanded to include five counties, Tulare, Fresno, Kern, Kings, and Madera. The following 
year, AB 157 (Reyes), Chapter 564, Statutes of 1999, authorized the development of the Rural 
Crime Task Force in Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tulare 
Counties, and $3.541 million was appropriated to carry out the purpose of the task force. AB 374 
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(Matthews), Chapter 719, Statutes of 2002, renamed the "Rural Crime Prevention Program" the 
"Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention Program", and required the program to develop a 
uniform procedure for the collection and reporting of data on agricultural crimes. 

SB 44 (Denham), Chapter 18, Statutes of 2003 authorized the counties of Monterey, San Luis 
Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, and San Benito to develop Central Coast Rural Crime 
Prevention Programs modeled on Central Valley Rural Crime Prevention Programs, to be 
administered by the county sheriff’s office in Monterey County and by the district attorney’s 
office in each of the other four counties. Sources of funding for the program may include, but 
shall not be limited to, appropriations from local government and private contributions. 

Having a specialized team of law enforcement officers permanently assigned to rural crime 
prevention allows for specialization and consistent interaction between ranchers, farmers, and the 
crime prevention units. The overall goal of these programs is to reduce rural crime by 
coordinating the efforts of law enforcement and the agricultural community. 

This bill provides that for violations of the new section created by this bill where the value of the 
items stolen exceeds $50,000, the proceeds of the fine shall be allocated to the Central Valley 
Rural Crime Prevention Program or the Central Coast Rural Crime Prevention Program. 

6. Argument in Support 

According to the California Farm Bureau Federation: 

California’s rural communities have seen a sharp increase in crime, specifically 
equipment, metal, crop, and mail theft, which requires unique problem solving 
and broad cooperation from all levels of law enforcement, land owners and 
businesses. The costs to remediate impacts from rural crime fall 
disproportionately on land holders who are already underserved by state and local 
crime prevention programs. Specific to property theft, farmers, ranchers and 
dairymen and women make significant investment to purchase and service farm 
implements that are essential to their operations with multiple uses. Theft of 
equipment, like tractors, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), and utility trailers, not only 
come at a significant financial price to farms, but also can delay important cultural 
activities, such as planting, pruning, harvesting, or pest management activities that 
are dependent upon such equipment. To exacerbate this issue, though some 
regions do specifically address rural crimes, information about agricultural-
specific theft is often co-mingled with other property theft data, making it difficult 
to contextualize the issue which may otherwise allow officers to better work 
jurisdictions to identify criminal patterns and prioritize enforcement activities. 

In response, SB 224 (Grove) would distinguish theft of high-value agricultural 
equipment from the broader grand theft categorization and authorize associated 
fines to be utilized by participating counties to abate rural crime. This would 
result in strengthened ability by law enforcement agencies in rural areas to detect 
and monitor agricultural based crimes. 
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7. Argument in Opposition 

According to the American Civil Liberties Union of California: 

Stealing personal property valued at more than $950 is already considered grand theft 
under California law. Thus today, stealing a tractor, an all-terrain vehicle, or another type 
of agricultural equipment which has a value exceeding $950 already constitutes a crime 
of grand theft and can be punished by up to three years in jail. Existing law likewise 
already permits a judge to impose a restitution fine of up to $10,000 for felony grand 
theft. A judge can also require the person to pay restitution to the victim in an amount 
commensurate to the economic loss suffered, which, in the case of agricultural equipment 
whose value exceeds $50,000, could be in excess of $50,000. This fine and restitution are 
added to any other fines or fees imposed as a result of the conviction. It is unreasonable 
and unnecessary to add yet another fine. 

 

-- END – 

 


