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PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to extend the operation on the aggravated arson offense factor 
where a fire causes property damage and losses in excess of $8,300,000 until January 1, 2029. 
This bill also delays the operation of the offense that deletes the threshold dollar amount of 
property damages and losses as an aggravating factor until January 1, 2029. 

Existing law states that a person who willfully, maliciously, deliberately, with premeditation, and 
with intent to cause injury to one or more persons, or to cause damage to property under 
circumstances likely to produce injury to one or more persons, or to cause damage to one or 
more structures or inhabited dwellings, sets fire to, burns, or causes to be burned, or aids, 
counsels, or procures the burning of any residence, structure, forest land, or property, is guilty of 
aggravated arson if one or more of the following aggravating factors exists (Pen. Code § 451.5, 
subd. (a).): 

 The defendant has been previously convicted of arson on one or more occasions within 
the past 10 years. 
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 The fire caused property damage and other losses in excess of eight million three hundred 
thousand dollars ($8,300,000). 
 

 The fire caused damage, or the destruction of, five or more inhabited structures. (Pen. 
Code, § 451.5, subd. (a).) 

Existing law provides that the courts shall consider the cost of fire suppression in calculating the 
total amount of property damage and other losses. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. (a)(2)(B).) 
 
Existing law states that it is the legislature’s intent to review the monetary threshold amount 
within five years to consider the effects of inflation. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. (a)(2)(B).) 
 
Existing law states that a person who is convicted under the aggravating arson factors shall be 
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for 10 years to life. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. (b).) 
 
Existing law states that a person who is sentenced under the aggravating arson factors shall not 
be eligible for release on parole until 10 calendar years have elapsed. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. 
(c).) 
 
Existing law providing the monetary threshold factor shall remain in effect only until January 1, 
2024, and as of that date is repealed. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. (d).)  
 
Existing law states that the deletion of the threshold of property damage and other losses shall 
become operative on January 1, 2024. (Pen. Code, § 451.5, subd. (d).) 
 
This bill extends the former aggravating arson offenses until January 1, 2029, and delays the 
operation of the latter aggravating arson offense that deletes the threshold dollar amount of 
property damage and other losses as an aggravating factor until January 1, 2029.  

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill 
 
The author states:  
 

The alarm couldn’t be louder. Our state is facing unprecedented, destructive 
wildfires – 14 of the largest 20 wildfires in California history have occurred just 
in the last decade. Megafires have threatened the way of life for millions of 
Californians. Some of these horribly destructive wildfires have been set by 
arsonists. Such as: 

 The Clayton Fire in Lake County in 2016 burned tens of thousands of acres 
near Lower Lake and destroyed 300 structures, including 189 homes. 

 The massive five-alarm fire that destroyed a Home Depot in San Jose, causing 
more than $17 million in damages. 

 The July 2021 fire set by a Clearlake Oaks resident in Lake County that 
destroyed or damaged 11 buildings. 
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 The Hopkins Fire in Mendocino County that destroyed 30 homes and burned 
257 acres. 

SB 281 will ensure law enforcement maintain a valuable deterrent and a necessary 
penalty to arson-caused fires. 
 

2.  Aggravated Arson Monetary Threshold  
 
At the time of the aggravated arson offense’s implementation in 1995, the total monetary amount 
of property damage and other losses was set at $5 million. The original statute, Penal Code § 
451.5, provided that:  

It is the intent of the Legislature that this paragraph be reviewed within five years 
to consider the effects of inflation on the dollar amount stated herein.  For that 
reason, this paragraph shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1999, and as of 
that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which is enacted before 
January 1, 1999, deletes or extends that date.   

Because of this, the cost of inflation is to be considered by the legislature within five years when 
extending the sunset on the statute and/or making changes to the monetary threshold. The 
statute’s sunset and monetary threshold has increased four times since 1995. The most recent 
sunset extension saw the threshold increase in 2014 from $7 million to $8.3 million in 2018 to 
account for inflation.  
 
However, this bill provides no changes to the monetary threshold and maintains the $8.3 million 
standard. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, $8.3 million in 2018 equates to 
roughly $10 million in 20231. The author may need to consider altering the existing threshold 
number to account for increased inflation since 2018.  
 
3.  Fires in California 

Cal Fire Law Enforcement maintains statistics relating to the number of arson arrests from 2016 
to 20222. The arson chart provided by Cal Fire displays that arson has significantly increased 
during these years, with 73 arrests in 2016 to 163 arrests in 2022, or about a 222% increase. 
Among these arrests, the author has recognized several notable cases that resulted in an 
aggravated arson charge: 

1. In April 2022 in San Jose, Dyllin Jaycruz Gogue faced ten felony counts 
including aggravated arson, arson of an inhabited structure or property, and grand 
theft, plus three petty theft misdemeanors, for starting a five-alarm fire at a Home 
Depot, charging documents show3.  

2. In August 2022 in Clear Lake Oaks, the defendant faced charges of aggravated 
arson, arson of an inhabited structure, causing a fire of an inhabited structure, 
possessing material for arson, and threatening to commit a crime. Causing the 
destruction or damage of 11 buildings. The defendant are also being charged with 

                                            
1 “CPI Inflation Calculator,” accessed February 21, 2023, https://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm 
2 “Statistics,” accessed March 14, 2023, https://www.fire.ca.gov/our-impact/statistics 
3 “San Jose Home Depot fire: Man charged with arson in connection with massive fire,” accessed February 22, 
2023, https://www.cnn.com/2022/04/20/us/san-jose-arson-theft-home-depot/index.html 
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being under the influence of a controlled substance and carrying a concealed 
dirk/dagger in another matter4. 

3. In 2016, Lake County suffered through the Clayton Fire that burned tens of 
thousands of acres near Lower Lake and destroyed 320 structures, including 188 
homes. Clearlake resident Damin Pashilk was arrested and is in jail for igniting 
the destructive Clayton Fire, which devastated the lives of hundreds of 
Californians. The estimated cost of the fire was $19,743,079.795. 

 
4. In November 2017, Jeffery Cameron Schmid was sentenced to the maximum 

penalty for an aggravated arson charge and four other counts of felony arson of 
forest land6. The Minerva Fire, Toll Fire, Squirrel Fire, Rhinehart Meadows Fire, 
and 89’er Fire encompassed these charges. The Minerva Fire itself burned 4,310 
acres and took 163 days to contain; contributing to the third most destructive 
wildfire season in California7. 

 
The author and supporters assert that by extending the sunset of this statute, law enforcement and 
prosecutors will continue to have the necessary and valuable tools to handle the most dangerous 
arsonists in California that risk lives and cause a strain on local governments and first 
responders.  
 
4.  Argument in Support: 
 
According to the California’s District Attorneys Association: 
 

Aggravated arson requires a defendant to act with premeditation and is limited to 
repeat and serial arsonists. It is also limited to the most serious and devastating 
arsons – those that damage or destroy multiple homes or that cause more than 
$8.3 million in property damage and fire suppression costs. The current version of 
P.C. 451.5 is scheduled to sunset on January 1, 2024, which means that the part of 
aggravated arson that applies to fires that cause extensive property damage and 
require major costs to suppress will be eliminated from the statute. Deliberately 
set fires continue to be a major problem in California, and therefore it is vital that 
prosecutors and judges continue to have the ability to address aggravated arson 
conduct.  
 
In Plumas County in 2017, an offender was convicted of aggravated arson and 
four other arson counts for the Minerva fire, the Toll fire, the Squirrel fire, the 
Rhinehart Meadows fire, and the 89’er fire, and was ordered to pay over $25 
million in restitution.  
 

                                            
4 “Judge holds Clearlake Oaks woman to answer arson charges,” accessed February 23, 2023, https://www.record-
bee.com/2022/08/25/judge-holds-clearlake-oaks-woman-to-answer-arson-charges/ 
5 “Cal Fire officials discuss firefighting costs, testing of potential ignition sources in Clayton fire preliminary 
hearing,” accessed February 2023, 2023, https://www.lakeconews.com/news/60204-cal-fire-officials-discuss-
firefighting-cost-testing-of-potential-ignition-sources-in-clayton-fire-preliminary-hearing 
6 “Man who set five Plumas forest fires sentenced to prison,” accessed March 9, 2023, 
https://www.sacbee.com/news/local/crime/article182640946.html 
7 “Minerva Fire Incident Report,” accessed February 23, 2023, 
https://www.fire.ca.gov/incidents/2017/7/29/minerva-fire/ 
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In Monterey County, an offender was convicted in 2022 for the 2020 Big Sur 
Dolan fire that seriously injured a firefighter, destroyed multiple structures, 
including ten residences, burned over 124,000 acres, and killed a dozen 
endangered California condors.  
 
Cal Fire Law Enforcement statistics also show that arson arrests have increased 
significantly from 2016 to 2022. (https://www.fire.ca.gov) 
 
These examples highlight the continued need to be able to target individuals who 
start fires that cause extensive property damage and require major costs to 
suppress. 
 

-- END – 

 


