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PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to expand the definition of exonerated state prison inmates who are 
eligible to receive transitional services to include individuals granted a writ of habeas corpus.  

Existing law states that if a person has secured a declaration of factual innocence, the finding 
shall be sufficient grounds for compensation by the Victim Compensation and Government 
Claims Board (VCGCB).  Upon application the VCGCB shall, without a hearing, recommend to 
the Legislature that an appropriation be made. (Penal Code § 851.865.) 
 
Existing law sets the rate of compensation at $100 per day of incarceration served subsequent to 
the claimant's conviction, and specifies that this appropriation shall not be considered gross 
income for state tax purposes. (Penal Code § 4904.) 
 
Existing law provides that any person who, having been convicted of any crime against the state 
amounting to a felony and imprisoned in the state prison for that conviction, is granted a pardon 
by the Governor for the reason that the crime with which he or she was charged was either not 
committed at all or, if committed, was not committed by him or her, or who, being innocent of 
the crime with which he or she was charged for either of the foregoing reasons, shall have served 
the term or any part thereof for which he or she was imprisoned, may, as specified, present a 
claim against the state to the VCGCB for the pecuniary injury sustained by him or her through 
the erroneous conviction and imprisonment. (Penal Code § 4900.) 
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Existing law gives erroneously convicted and pardoned individuals two years to file a claim 
against the state. (Penal Code § 4901.) 
Existing law requires that the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall assist a person 
who is exonerated as to a conviction for which he or she is serving a state prison sentence at the 
time of exoneration with transitional services, including housing assistance, job training, and 
mental health services, as applicable. The extent of the services shall be determined by the 
department and shall be provided for a period of not less than six months and not more than one 
year from the date of release. (Penal Code § 3007.05(d).) 
 
Existing law requires the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to establish a 
case management reentry pilot program for offenders who are likely to benefit from case 
management reentry strategies designed to address homelessness, joblessness, mental disorders, 
and developmental disabilities among offenders transitioning from prison into the community.  
(Penal Code § 3016.) 
 
Existing law requires the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and the 
Department of Motor Vehicles shall ensure that all eligible inmates released from state prisons 
have valid identification cards, as specified. (Penal Code § 3007.05(a).) 

Existing law defines, for purposes of this section, “eligible inmates” as inmates who meet all of 
the following requirements: 

• The inmate has previously held a California driver’s license or identification card. 
• The inmate has a usable photo on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles that is not 

more than 10 years old.  
• The inmate has no outstanding fees due for a prior California identification card.  
• The inmate has provided, and the Department of Motor Vehicles has verified all the 

following information:  
o The inmate’s true full name. 
o The inmate’s date of birth. 
o The inmate’s social security number. 
o The inmate’s legal presence in the United States (Penal Code § 3007.05 (b).) 

 
Existing law provides, for purposes of this section, that “exonerated” means the person has been 
convicted and subsequently either of the following occurred:  

• A writ of habeas corpus concerning the person was granted on the basis that the evidence 
unerringly points to innocence, or the person’s conviction was reversed on appeal on the 
basis of insufficient evidence.   

• The person was given an absolute pardon by the governor on the basis that the person 
was innocent. (Penal Code § 3007.05(d).) 

 
This bill would expand the definition of “exonerated” in Penal Code § 3007.05(d), for purposes 
of eligibility for transitional services, to include a person who have been granted a writ of habeas 
corpus. 
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COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

This bill would expand the definition of exonerated state prison inmates who are eligible 
to receive transitional services to include individuals granted a writ of habeas corpus. 

According to the Author:  

In 2015, Assemblymember Jones-Sawyer introduced AB 672, also known as 
“Obie’s law,” which ensured that wrongfully convicted people could get access to 
services which were at the time only available to parolees. At the time the law 
was written, an individual could challenge his or her conviction if he or she had 
new evidence which “completely undermined the prosecution’s case and pointed 
unerringly to innocence.” (In re Clark (1993) 5 Cal.4th 750,766.) This standard is 
directly referenced in Obie’s law to determine whether an exonerated person is 
eligible for services. This means that only if a person’s conviction was reversed 
based on this standard could they be eligible for services through Obie’s Law. 
Unfortunately, the standard for establishing your innocence has changed, which 
means the language in Obie’s Law is no longer the standard in California. Last 
year, SB 1134 was signed into law; the bill allows an innocent individual to 
challenge his or her conviction if he or she presents new evidence which “would 
have more likely than not changed the outcome at trial.” (Pen. Code 
§1473(b)(3)(A).) two years ago, the passage of SB 1058 allowed for an individual 
to challenge his or her conviction if he or she establishes that false scientific 
evidence—“junk science”—was introduced at trial, and new research shows that 
the science can no longer be relied upon. (Pen. Code § 1473(e)(1).)  

The new language and standards mean Obie’s Law is now out of date.  Innocent 
people may be entitled to services (because they have established their innocence) 
but will no longer be eligible for them (because the reversal of their conviction 
does not contain the specific language found in Obie’s Law). 

2. Background  

Existing law provides the opportunity for those wrongly convicted, under any pretense, to 
petition for a writ of habeas corpus, which allows the court to inquire into the cause of his 
or her imprisonment or restraint. (Penal Code § 1500) The New York Times defines the 
granting of “a writ of habeas corpus [as] a judicial declaration that a prison inmate has 
been wrongfully convicted or sentenced.”1  For example, a John Edward Smith of Los 
Angeles was granted a writ of habeas corpus after spending 19 years in prison for a 
murder he did not commit. The Los Angeles times reported that after the exoneration 
“Smith said he was putting the details of his case out of his mind and focusing on the 
small steps to rebuild a life on the outside, like getting a driver’s license.”2 Although 

                                            
1 Linda Greenhouse, “Justices Overturn Ruling in Case on Buttons in Court,” The New York Times, December 12, 
2006, accessed March 27, 2017. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/12/washington/12scotus.html  
2 Harriet Ryan, “After 19 years in Jail, Ex-Gang Member Exonerated, Freed,” The Los Angeles Times, September 
25, 2012, accessed March 27, 2017. http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/lanow/2012/09/after-19-years-in-jail-ex-gang-
member-exonerated-freed.html  
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Smith spent 19 years in prison for a crime he did not commit, he was ineligible for 
transitional services for his reintegration into society.  

This bill would allow inmates granted a writ of habeas corpus the ability to participate in 
transitional services— including housing assistance, job training, and mental health 
services, as applicable— following their release from state prisons. 

– END – 


