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Support: Advocates for Child Empowerment and Safety; Arcadia Police Officers’ 

Association; Burbank Police Officers’ Association; California District Attorneys 
Association; California Federation of Teachers AFL-CIO; California Police 
Chiefs Association; California Protective Parents Association; Claremont Police 
Officers Association; Corona Police Officers Association; Culver City Police 
Officers’ Association; Deputy Sheriffs’ Association of Monterey County; 
Fullerton Police Officers’ Association; Murrieta Police Officers’ Association; 
Newport Beach Police Association; Palos Verdes Police Officers Association; 
Peace Officers Research Association of California; Placer County Deputy 
Sheriffs’ Association; Pomona Police Officers’ Association; Riverside Police 
Officers Association; Santa Ana Police Officers Association; Upland Police 
Officers Association 

 
Opposition: California Public Defenders Association; San Francisco Public Defender   
 
 

PURPOSE 
 
The purpose of this bill is to extend the statute of limitations for domestic violence from 5 
years to 15 years. 
 
Existing law provides that any person who willfully inflicts corporal injury resulting in a 
traumatic condition upon a victim, as described, is guilty of a felony. Provides that the 
punishment is imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or four years, or in a county jail for 
not more than one year, or by a fine of up to $6,000, or by both that fine and imprisonment. (Pen. 
Code, § 273.5, subd. (a).) 
 
Existing law provides that the above penalty applies if the victim is or was one or more of the 
following: 
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 The offender’s spouse or former spouse. 
 The offender’s cohabitant or former cohabitant. 
 The offender’s fiancé or fiancée, or someone with whom the offender has, or previously 

had, an engagement or dating relationship, as defined. 
 The mother or father of the offender’s child. (Pen. Code, § 273.5, subd. (b).) 

 
Existing law defines “traumatic condition” as a condition of the body, such as a wound, or 
external or internal injury, including, but not limited to, injury as a result of strangulation or 
suffocation, whether of a minor or serious nature, caused by a physical force. Provides that 
“strangulation” and “suffocation” include impeding the normal breathing or circulation of the 
blood of a person by applying pressure on the throat or neck. (Pen. Code, § 273.5, subd. (d).) 
 
Existing law provides, generally, that the statute of limitations for most misdemeanors is one 
year. (Pen. Code, § 802, subd. (a).) 
 
Existing provides, generally, that the statute of limitations for most felonies is three years, except 
as specified. (Pen. Code, § 801.) 
 
Existing law establishes a five-year statute of limitations for domestic violence. Provides that the 
five-year statute of limitations only applies to crimes that were committed on or after January 1, 
2020, and to crimes for which the statute of limitations that was in effect prior to January 1, 
2020, has not elapsed as of January 1, 2020. (Pen. Code, § 804.7.)  
 
This bill extends the statute of limitations for domestic violence from five years to fifteen years. 
Provides that the fifteen-year statute of limitations only applies to crimes that were committed on 
or after January 1, 2024, and to crimes for which the statute of limitations that was in effect prior 
to January 1, 2024, has not elapsed as of January 1, 2024. 
 

COMMENTS 
 
1. Need For This Bill 
 
According to the author: 
 

Survivors of domestic violence often need years to overcome their trauma and 
build the courage to report their abuse. A common factor in all stories for victims 
includes a deep-rooted trauma and paralyzing fear that comes from their 
experience. This bill will allow more time for domestic violence victims to heal 
and come forward, by extending the statute of limitations to 15 years to report 
their abuse. Victims of abuse, often times can end up without a home or any 
resources due to the financial intimate partner dependency element in the 
relationship, or even worse, it could be fatal. In the U.S., an average of 50 women 
are shot to death by their intimate partners every month, and many more are 
injured. By allowing more time to report abuse, we provide survivors with 
sufficient time to heal and come forward while also mitigating the escalation of 
domestic violence cases that may result in a tragic death.  
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2. Current Statute of Limitations for Domestic Violence 
 
Domestic violence is defined as “willfully inflict[ing] corporal injury resulting in a traumatic 
condition upon a victim.” (Pen. Code, § 273.5, subd. (a).) The victim must be the offender’s 
spouse or former spouse, the offender’s cohabitant or former cohabitant, the offender’s fiancé or 
fiancée, or someone with whom the offender has, or previously had, an engagement or dating 
relationship, or the mother or father of the offender’s child. (Pen. Code, § 273.5, subd. (b).) 
“Traumatic condition” is defined as “a condition of the body, such as a wound, or external or 
internal injury, including, but not limited to, injury as a result of strangulation or suffocation, 
whether of a minor or serious nature, caused by a physical force.” (Pen. Code, § 273.5, subd. 
(d).) The statute of limitations for the crime of domestic violence when charged as a violation of 
Penal Code section 273.5 was previously three years from the commission of the offense. Senate 
Bill 273 (Rubio, Chapter 546, Statutes of 2019) extended the statute of limitations to five years 
from the commission of the offense. (Pen. Code, § 803.7.) 
 
This bill would further extend the statute of limitations for the crime of domestic violence from 5 
years to 15 years and limits its application to crimes that are committed on or after January 1, 
2024, and to crimes for which the statute of limitations that was in effect prior to January 1, 
2024, has not run as of January 1, 2024. 
 
3. Public Policy Considerations 
 
The statute of limitations requires commencement of a prosecution within a certain period of 
time after the commission of a crime. The prosecution of an individual is initiated by filing an 
indictment or information, filing a complaint, arraigning the defendant on a complaint that 
charges the defendant with a felony, or issuing an arrest or bench warrant. (Pen. Code, § 804.) 
The failure of a prosecution to be commenced within the applicable period of limitation is a 
complete defense to the charge. The statute of limitations is jurisdictional and may be raised as a 
defense at any time, before or after judgment. (People v. Morris (1988) 46 Cal.3d 1, 13.) The 
defense may only be waived under limited circumstances. (See Cowan v. Superior Court (1996) 
14 Cal.4th 367.) 
 
In 1984, the California Law Revision Commission published a series of recommendations to 
revise the statute of limitations. The impetus for reform derived from numerous changes made to 
the statute of limitations by the Legislature. The Commission commented, “[t]his simple scheme 
has been made complex by numerous modifications . . . the result of this development is that the 
California law is complex and filled with inconsistencies.” (California Law Revision 
Commission, Recommendation Relating to Statutes of Limitations for Felonies (Jan. 1984) 17 
Cal. Law Revision Com. Rep. (1984), p. 307 available at <http://www.clrc.ca.gov/pub/Printed-
Reports/Pub146.pdf>.) In its report, the Commission described the rationale of the statute of 
limitations: 
 

The statute of limitations is simply a societal declaration that it will no longer 
pursue a criminal after a certain period of time. The period selected may be 
somewhat arbitrary but still achieves society’s purpose of imposing an outside 
limit that recognizes the staleness problem, that requires that crime must come 
to light and be investigated within a reasonable time, and that represents the 
point after which society declares it no longer has an interest in prosecution and 
seeks repose. 
(Id. at pp. 313-314.) 
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The three principal policy reasons for felony statute of limitations include: 
 

 Staleness: The statute of limitations protects persons accused of crime: (i) from having to 
face charges based on evidence that may be unreliable, and (ii) from losing access to the 
evidentiary means to defend against the accusation. With the passage of time, memory 
fades, witnesses die or otherwise become unavailable, and physical evidence becomes 
unobtainable or contaminated. 

 
 Prompt Investigation: The statute of limitations imposes a priority among crimes for 

investigation and prosecution. The deadline serves to motivate the police and to ensure 
against bureaucratic delays in investigating crimes. 

 
 Repose: The statute of limitations reflect society’s lack of desire to prosecute for crimes 

committed in the distant past. The interest in repose represents a societal evaluation of the 
time after which it is neither profitable nor desirable to commence a prosecution. 
(Id. at pp. 308-310.) 

 
These principals are reflected in court decisions. The U.S. Supreme Court has stated that statutes 
of limitations are “the primary guarantee against bringing overly stale criminal charges.” (United 
States v. Ewell (1966) 383 U.S. 116, 122.) There is a measure of predictability provided by 
specifying a limit beyond which there is an irrebutable presumption that a defendant’s right to a 
fair trial would be prejudiced. Such laws reflect legislative assessments of relative interests of the 
state and the defendant in administering and receiving justice. More recently, in Stogner v. 
California (2003) 539 U.S. 67, the Court underscored the basis for statutes of limitations: 
 

Significantly, a statute of limitations reflects a legislative judgment that, after a 
certain time, no quantum of evidence is sufficient to convict. And that judgment 
typically rests, in large part, upon evidentiary concerns – for example, concern 
that the passage of time has eroded memories or made witnesses or other 
evidence unavailable. (Id. at p. 615.) 

 
4. Argument in Support 
 
The California District Attorneys Association writes: 
 

Victims of domestic violence often hide their abuse – and may do so for years on 
end. Currently, when this happens justice cannot be served through prosecution 
due to the short statute of limitations. Having the ability to reach back 15 years 
will help us hold abusers accountable and provide substantial justice for victims. 
 
CDAA supports SB 690 because it protects victims and survivors by providing 
them with more time to come forward and seek the justice they deserve. 

 
5. Argument in Opposition 
 
According to the California Public Defenders Association: 
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SB 690 would extend the current five year statute of limitations for misdemeanors 
and felonies to 15 years for domestic violence. This five-year statute of limitation 
for domestic violence was just enacted in 2019 (SB 273). Previously the statute of 
limitations for misdemeanor domestic violence was one year and three years for 
felonies. 
 
Nothing has happened in the intervening 3-1/2 years since SB 273 became 
effective that warrants upsetting the careful balancing of interests by the 
Legislature in 2019. We strongly oppose SB 690’s extension of the statute of 
limitations for domestic violence prosecutions. The extension of the state of 
limitations will result in the conviction of innocent people, is bad public policy 
and wastes scarce resources that could be better spent on evidence based and 
effective strategies to end domestic violence. 
 
Criminal statutes of limitations in the United States date back to colonial times . . . 
The statute’s fundamental purpose is to protect people accused of crimes from 
having to face charges based on evidence that may be unreliable, and from losing 
access to the means to defend themselves. 
 
… 
 
With the passage of time, memories fade, witnesses die, records and biological 
evidence are lost or destroyed. All of this makes it more likely that an innocent 
person will be wrongly convicted. 
 
Statutes of limitations also serve the purpose of encouraging swift investigations 
and prosecutions. Given the incidence of domestic violence in the United States 
and California, proponents of SB 690 rightly complain that relatively few 
domestic violence cases are actually investigated and prosecuted in California. 
The primary reason for this is not because of statutes of limitations. Rather, the 
failure to investigate and prosecute domestic violence results from choices made 
about allocation of resources and priorities and lingering ignorance about the 
generational harms of domestic violence. Extending the statute of limitations will 
do nothing to address those obstacles. 
 
… 
 
SB 690 is bad public policy and proposes to waste scarce resources imprisoning 
more individuals for domestic violence when there are evidence based programs 
that have been proven effective at reducing violence. … 
 
Both domestically and internationally researchers have found that school and 
community based education programs work. … 
 
In contrast, there has been no research showing that SB 690’s proposed 15 year 
statute of limitations … is warranted. 

 
 

-- END -- 
 


