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PURPOSE 

The purpose of this bill is to authorize noneconomic restitution where a person is convicted of 
continuous sexual child abuse or sexual acts with a child 10 years of age or younger. 

Existing law states it is the unequivocal intention of the People of the State of California that all 
persons who suffer losses as a result of criminal activity shall have the right to restitution from 
the persons convicted of the crimes for losses they suffer.  Restitution shall be ordered from the 
convicted persons in every case, regardless of the sentence or disposition imposed, in which a 
crime victim suffers a loss, unless compelling and extraordinary reasons exist to the contrary. 
(Cal. Const., art. I, § 28, subd. (b).) 

Existing law requires criminal defendants to make full restitution to the victims of their crimes as 
determined by the court. (Pen. Code § 1202.4, subd. (f).) 

Existing law generally limits restitution to economic losses incurred as the result of defendant’s 
criminal conduct. (Pen. Code § 1202.4, subd. (f).) 

Existing law creates an exception to this general limitation and permits courts to order restitution 
for noneconomic losses, including, but not limited to, psychological harm, for felony violations 
of lewd and lascivious acts against a child under 14 years of age. (Pen. Code § 1202.4, subd. 
(f)(3)(F).) 

Existing law states that any person who willfully and lewdly commits any lewd or lascivious act, 
including any of the acts constituting other crimes against persons or property, against a child 
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under the age of 14 with the intent of arousing, appealing to, or gratifying the lust, passions, or 
sexual desires of that person or the child, is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the 
state prison for 3, 6 or 8 years. (Pen. Code § 288.) 

Existing law provides that any person who either resides in the same home as a minor child or 
has recurring access to the child, who over the period of time, not less than three months in 
duration, engages in three or more acts of substantial sexual conduct, as defined, with a child 
under the age of 14, or three or more acts of lewd and lascivious conduct, as defined in Penal 
Code section 288, is guilty of the offense of continuous sexual abuse of a child and is punishable 
by imprisonment in the state prison for a term of 6, 12, or 16 years. (Pen. Code § 288.5.) 

Existing law provides that it is a felony punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for a term 
of 25 years to life for any person 18 years of age or older who engages in sexual intercourse or 
sodomy with a child who is 10 years of age or younger; and it is a felony punishable by 
imprisonment in the state prison for a term of 15 years to life for any person 18 years of age or 
older who engages in oral copulation or penetration with a foreign object with a child who is 10 
years of age or younger. (Pen. Code § 288.7.) 

This bill adds the crimes of continuous sexual abuse of a child and sexual acts with a child 10 
years of age or younger to the statute authorizing noneconomic restitution for lewd and 
lascivious acts against a child under the age of 14. 

COMMENTS 

1.  Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 

SB 756 will help address the mental health needs of children who are victims of 
serious sex crimes.   While California law currently requires criminal offenders to 
pay non-economic restitution for specified sex crimes, it has not been updated to 
cover serious sex crimes committed against young children, such as sodomy and 
oral copulation, and continuous sexual abuse of a person under 14 years of age.   
SB 756 closes the loop hole in the law and requires restitution for the pain and 
suffering incurred by these victims.  The trauma that young children experience 
from egregious sex crimes takes an enormous psychological toll, leaving them 
anxious, depressed, withdrawn and even suicidal.  To cope, many need the help of 
a mental health counselor to help understand that they can recover from the abuse, 
trust adults and lead a normal life.    According to a 2003 National Institute of 
Justice report, 3 out of 4 adolescents who have been sexually assaulted were 
victimized by someone they knew well.  Offenders who have caused this 
psychological damage need to be held accountable and help pay for the victim’s 
psychological recovery. 

2.  Victim Restitution Generally 

Under the California Constitution (Article 1, § 28), as implemented by Penal Code section 
1202.4, a sentencing judge in a criminal case must order a defendant to pay full restitution to the 
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victim for all his or her economic losses. As interpreted by the courts, the term "economic 
losses" in the restitution statute consistently has referred to actual economic losses.   

"In a criminal case an award of restitution is committed to the sound discretion of the trial court."  
(People v. Giordano (2007) 42 Cal.4th 644, 665.)  The trial court is given almost unlimited 
discretion as to the kind of information it can consider and the sources where it comes from.  
(People v. Hove (1999) 76 Cal.App.4th 1266, 1275.)  Likewise, the trial court is entitled to use 
any rational method of fixing the amount of restitution.  (People v. Goulart (1990) 224 
Cal.App.3d 71, 83.)  

While statutory provisions for victim restitution have been broadly and liberally construed, the 
amount of restitution must be limited to losses actually incurred as a result of the defendant’s 
criminal conduct.  (People v. Lyon (1996) 49 Cal.App.4th 1521, 1526.)  Although full restitution 
in the amount of the losses resulting from appellant's criminal conduct is required [Penal Code 
Section 1202.4(f)(3)], the victim is not entitled to overcompensation.  "A restitution order is 
intended to compensate the victim for its actual loss and is not intended to provide the victim 
with a windfall."  (People v. Chappelone (2010) 183 Cal.App.4th 1159, 1172; In re Anthony M. 
(2007) 156 Cal.App.4th 1010, 1017-1018; People v. Fortune (2005) 129 Cal.App.4th 790, 795; 
People v. Thygesen (1999) 69 Cal.App.4th 988, 995.)  "A direct restitution award in excess of the 
victim's loss is unauthorized."  (People v. Nguyen (1994) 23 Cal.App.4th 32, 45; People v. 
Williams (1989) 207 Cal. App. 3d 1520, 1524.)    

Under existing law, there is an exception to this general limitation that permits courts to order 
restitution for noneconomic losses, including, but not limited to, psychological harm for felony 
violations of lewd and lascivious acts against a child under 14 years of age. (Pen. Code § 1202.4, 
subd. (f)(3)(F).) This bill would additionally authorize a victim to receive noneconomic 
restitution for the crimes of continuous sexual abuse of a child (Pen. Code § 288.5) and sexual 
acts with a child 10 years of age or younger. (Pen. Code § 288.7.) 

3.  Relevant Case Law and Legislative History 

Existing law specifies that a defendant may be ordered to pay noneconomic restitution for 
psychological harm for felony violations of Penal Code section 288. (Pen. Code § 1202.4, subd. 
(f)(3)(F).) The meaning of the term “felony violations of Penal Code section 288” is a question 
of statutory interpretation. 

When determining statutory construction, it is the court’s duty "to ascertain the intent of the 
lawmakers so as to effectuate the purpose of the statute." (People v. Trevino (2001) 26 Cal.4th 
237, 240.) The court starts its analysis by “examining the statutory language because it generally 
is the most reliable indicator of legislative intent.” (Id. at 241.) The court must give the language 
its usual and ordinary meaning, and "[i]f there is no ambiguity, then [the court must] presume the 
lawmakers meant what they said, and the plain meaning of the language governs." (Day v. City 
of Fontana (2001) 25 Cal. 4th 268, 272.) If, however, the statutory language is ambiguous, the 
court “may resort to extrinsic sources, including the ostensible objects to be achieved and the 
legislative history." (Ibid.)  The court must ultimately choose the construction that comports 
most closely with the apparent intent of the lawmakers, with a view to promoting rather than 
defeating the general purpose of the statute. (Ibid.) Any interpretation that would lead to absurd 
consequences is to be avoided. (Ibid.) 
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In People v. Valenti (2016) 243 Cal.App.4th 1140, the Second District Court of Appeal looked at 
the plain language of section 1202.4(f)(3)(F) and found that the provision clearly limits 
noneconomic restitution awards to felony convictions of section 288. It does not include section 
288.5, and sections 288 and 288.5 are not interchangeable. The court went on to further state that 
it is not the court’s “job to insert language in a statute which is not there. Had the Legislature 
wanted to include section 288.5 in the restitution statute, it was capable of doing so. It did not.” 
(Id. at 1181-1182.) Because the court found the language of the statute to be unambiguous, the 
court did not make any further determinations on legislative history or other intrinsic sources. 

Subsequently, the First District Court of Appeal in People v. McCarthy (2016) 244 Cal.App.4th 
1096 disagreed with Valenti and found that the plain language of section 1202.4(f)(3)(F) is 
ambiguous because the statute specifies “violations of section 288” rather than “convictions of 
section 288,” which could be interpreted to mean that the statute authorizes an award for 
noneconomic restitution for  convictions for conduct violating section 288, even if the conviction 
is not for section 288 itself. (Id. at 1105-1106.) The court supported its determination by pointing 
to the Legislature’s use of the terms “conviction” in some provisions of section 1202.4, and its 
use of the term “violations” in this particular paragraph authorizing noneconomic restitution. 
Because the language was not clear, the court looked at legislative history and found that when 
the provision for noneconomic restitution was first added to section 1202.4, it expressly applied 
to a “conviction” for a felony violation of section 288. The provision was later amended to drop 
the word conviction which, according to the court, presumably shows the Legislature’s intent to 
remove the requirement that defendants actually be convicted of a charge under section 288 in 
order for noneconomic restitution to be awarded. (Id. at 1107.) 

The McCarthy court next considered whether a construction permitting noneconomic restitution 
for convictions under section 288 but not for convictions under section 288.5 would lead to an 
absurd result. The court found that it would lead to an absurd result and refused to adopt a 
construction of the statutory language that would grant noneconomic restitution to victims of 
lewd and lascivious acts but not to victims of what are much more serious violations of the Penal 
Code. (Id. at 1108-1109.) 

After Valenti and McCarthy, the same issue was considered by the Fourth District Court of 
Appeal. (People v. Martinez (2017) 8 Cal.App.5th 298.) The defendant was convicted of 
continuous sexual abuse of a child under the age of 14 pursuant to Penal Code section 288.5. The 
trial court ordered defendant to pay the victim $150,000 in noneconomic restitution and the 
defendant appealed. The court, after considering the holding in Valenti and McCarthy, agreed 
with McCarthy and held that Penal Code section 1202.4 (f)(3)(F) does not limit the authority to 
award noneconomic restitution to cases where a person is convicted of section 288. Specifically, 
the court concluded that the provision authorizes noneconomic restitution in child molestation 
cases if the conduct underlying the conviction also constitutes a violation of Penal Code section 
288. (Martinez, supra, 8 Cal.App.5th at 306.)  

Because there is a split of authority in the appellate courts, there is some support for the 
conclusion that the existing provision authorizing noneconomic restitution is ambiguous and 
should be clarified in order to avoid further litigation.  

This bill amends Penal Code section 1202.4(f)(3)(F) to specifically include felony violations of 
Penal code section 288.5 and 288.7. 
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4.  Argument in Support 

The Los Angeles District Attorney’s Office is the sponsor of this bill and writes in support: 

Penal Code section 1202.4(f)(3)(F) permits a court to award noneconomic losses, 
including, but not limited to, psychological harm, for felony violations of Penal 
Code section 288.  Penal Code section 288 makes it a crime to willfully and 
lewdly commits any lewd or lascivious act, including any of the acts constituting 
other crimes provided for in Part 1 (sexual intercourse, sodomy, oral copulation or 
sexual penetration), upon or with the body, or any part or member thereof, of a 
child who is under the age of 14 years, with the intent of arousing, appealing to, 
or gratifying the lust, passions, or sexual desires of that person or the child. 

However, Penal Code section 1202.4(f)(3)(F) fails to include Penal Code sections 
288.5 and 288.7 which are just as serious (if not more serious) charges than Penal 
Code section 288.  Penal Code section 288.5 makes it a crime to continuously 
engage in substantial sexual conduct with a child under the age of 14.  Penal Code 
section 288.7 makes it a crime for a person 18 years of age or older to engage in 
sexual intercourse, sodomy, oral copulation or sexual penetration of a child who is 
10 years of age or younger. 

It makes little sense for a child under the age of 14 but older than 10 years of age 
to be awarded non-economic damages when they are the victim of child sexual 
assault, but not to award non-economic damages to a child aged 10 or younger 
who is the victim of the same conduct.  Nor does it make sense to award non-
economic damages to a child who is the victim of two sexual assaults but not if 
they are victimized three or more times. 

5.  Argument in Opposition 

According to the California Public Defenders Association: 

SB 756 is redundant and, therefore, not needed. SB 756 extends restitution for 
psychological harm for continuous sexual abuse. Existing Penal Code section 
1202.4(f)(3)(F) states that restitution can be ordered for [N]oneconomic losses, 
including but not limited to, psychological harm, for felony violations of section 
288.” Case law has already extended psychological harm restitution to continuous 
child abuse, Penal Code section 288.5. In People v. Smith (2011), the trial court 
ordered $750,000 in restitution for years of child sexual abuse. People v. Martinez 
(2017) reached the same result. The only published case that appears to have 
reached a different conclusion is People v. Valenti (2016). In Valenti, the 
Attorney General conceded that 288.5 was not included in the ambit of 
1202.4(f)(3)(F), even though courts all over the state had reached a different.  
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