Welcome to the Senate Standing Committee on Public Safety

♦Committee Jurisdiction

Legislation amending the following: a) Evidence Code, relating to criminal procedure; b) Penal Code;
c) statutes of a penal nature not related closely to a subject included in another subdivision of this rule; and
d) legislation relating to the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.


For information on how to submit a position letter by using the advocacy portal please see the directions below:

Advocacy Quick Reference Guide

Submit Position Letter

Support and opposition letters are due by 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday of the week prior to the hearing.

  • Letters received after the above deadline will not be reflected in the analysis but will be accessible to members on the dais.  
  • Letters must be on letterhead with signature and title of an official of the organization or designated representative.
  • Coalition letters must have logos, signatures, and titles for all organizations.
  • Letters must clearly indicate position: letters of support if amended will not be listed.

Letters can also be sent to the Committee through any of the following ways:

  • Using the Advocacy Portal by clicking on the "Submit Position Letter" icon above.
  • If you wish to mail your letter it may be mailed to us at: Senate Public Safety Committee, Legislative Office Building, 1020 N Street Room 545, Sacramento, CA 95814. 

As of February 28, 2023, the Governor terminated the state's COVID-19 State of Emergency.  Procedures put in place to accommodate the pandemic restrictions have been reverted back to pre-pandemic practices.  Teleconference testimony during committee hearings will no longer be available. 
The Senate continues to welcome the public and provides access to both in-person and written participation for public comment. If you are unable to attend a hearing in person, written comments or testimony can be provided directly to the committees by emailing the committee or utilizing the Advocacy Portal. 


Please note the various ways we are available to assist you:

Committee phone: (916) 651-4118


       Mary Kennedy: mary.kennedy@sen.ca.gov

       Alex Barnett: alex.barnett@sen.ca.gov

       Stella Choe: stella.choe@sen.ca.gov

       Stephanie Jordan: stephanie.jordan@sen.ca.gov

        John Duncan: john.duncan@sen.ca.gov

 Committee Assistant:

      Sarah Loftin:  sarah.loftin@sen.ca.gov



Senator Aisha Wahab (Chair)
Senator Kelly Seyarto, (Vice Chair)
Senator Steven Bradford
Senator Nancy Skinner
Senator Scott D. Wiener

Committee Address